42 books added

The Detection Club

The Detection Club was formed in 1930 by a group of British mystery writers, including Agatha Christie, Dorothy L Sayers, Ronald Knox, Freeman Wills Crofts, Arthur Morrison, John Rhode, Jessie Louisa Rickard, Baroness Orczy, R Austin Freeman, G D H Cole, Margaret Cole, E C Bentley, Henry Wade, and H C Bailey. Anthony Berkeley was instrumental in setting up the club, and the first president was G K Chesterton. There was a fanciful initiation ritual with an oath probably written by either Chesterton or Sayers, and the club held regular dinner meetings in London.

The Floating Admiral was the first of the Detection Clubs collaborative novels, in which twelve of its members wrote a single novel. Eighty-five years later, fourteen members of the club have once again collaborated to produce The Sinking Admiral: Simon Brett, Kate Charles, Natasha Cooper, Stella Duffy, Martin Edwards, Ruth Dudley Edwards, Tim Heald, Michael Jecks, Janet Laurence, Peter Lovesey, Michael Ridpath, David Roberts, L C Tyler and Laura Wilson.

Genres: Mystery
Anthologies edited
   Ask a Policeman (1933)
Omnibus editions show

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors