New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Charles Willeford's picture

Charles Willeford

(Charles Ray Willeford)
USA (1919 - 1988)

aka Will Charles, W Franklin Sanders

Charles Willeford was orphaned before he knew the difference, and spent the remainder of his childhood between boarding schools and his Grandmother's house. By the time he was fifteen, he was living as a hobo and riding the freight trains that crossed the Southern states. He joined the army and went to war, he was alarmed at the psychopaths and criminals that also joined and pointlessness of war. He remained in the army and started to write poetry. He wrote 18 novels, some under his pseudonym Will Charles, before he died in 1988.

Genres: Mystery
High Priest of California (1953)
Pick Up (1954)
Wild Wives (1956)
The Black Mass of Brother Springer (1958)
     aka Honey Gal
Lust Is a Woman (1958)
     aka Made in Miami
The Woman Chaser (1960)
Deliver Me from Dallas (1961) (as by W Franklin Sanders)
     aka The Whip Hand
Understudy for Death (1961)
     aka Understudy for Love
Cockfighter (1962)
No Experience Necessary (1962)
The Burnt Orange Heresy (1971)
The Hombre From Sonora (1971) (as by Will Charles)
     aka The Difference
Kiss Your Ass Goodbye (1987)
The Shark Infested Custard (1993)


Non fiction

Anthologies containing stories by Charles Willeford
Short stories
The Alectryomancer
Jake's Journal
'Just Like on Television-'
A Letter to a.A. (almost Anybody)
The Machine in Ward Eleven [short story]
Selected Incidents

Search for