book cover of Girl A
Added by 120 members
 

Girl A

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
 
“Pitch-perfect... Dean tells this story with such nuance and humanity, you’re desperate to step into its pages." —
The New York Times

“Heart-stopping psychological drama… A modern-day classic." —Jeffery Deaver,
New York Times bestselling author

“A gripping story about family dynamics and the nature of human psychology.” —
Good Housekeeping

She thought she had escaped her past. But there are some things you can’t outrun.

Lex Gracie doesn't want to think about her family. She doesn't want to think about growing up in her parents' House of Horrors. And she doesn't want to think about her identity as Girl A: the girl who escaped, the eldest sister who freed her older brother and four younger siblings. It's been easy enough to avoid her parents--her father never made it out of the House of Horrors he created, and her mother spent the rest of her life behind bars. But when her mother dies in prison and leaves Lex and her siblings the family home, she can't run from her past any longer. Together with her sister, Evie, Lex intends to turn the home into a force for good. But first she must come to terms with her siblings--and with the childhood they shared.

What begins as a propulsive tale of escape and survival becomes a gripping psychological family story about the shifting alliances and betrayals of sibling relationships--about the secrets our siblings keep, from themselves and each other. Who have each of these siblings become? How do their memories defy or galvanize Lex's own? As Lex pins each sibling down to agree to her family's final act, she discovers how potent the spell of their shared family mythology is, and who among them remains in its thrall and who has truly broken free.

For readers of
Room and Sharp Objects, an absorbing and psychologically immersive novel about a young girl who escapes captivity–but not the secrets that shadow the rest of her life.


Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"It is rare for a novel to be so deft yet devastating. A book of deep feeling, and an astonishing achievement." - Jessie Burton

"A work of utter genius." - Joanna Cannon

"A tremendously assured, accomplished debut." - Jane Casey

"Girl A packs a hell of a punch. Stark, shocking, heartbreaking but never, ever mawkish, I powered through it." - Tammy Cohen

"Absolutely pitch perfect." - Elle Croft

"Astonishing! A modern-day classic." - Jeffery Deaver

"Girl A is an absolute masterpiece: harrowing, emotive, confronting and beautifully written. An absolute scorcher of a debut." - Emma Gannon

"Books like GIRL A don’t come along often; it gives you no option but to put your entire life on pause. One of the most compelling novels I’ve read in a long time." - Stacey Halls

"Gripping, beautifully written perfection." - Sophie Hannah

"Fantastic, I loved it." - Paula Hawkins

"Emotionally complex and beautifully written, with shades of Gillian Flynn and Ali Land, the dark secrets of Girl A unfold with cool confidence. Incredibly impressive." - Catherine Ryan Howard

"Utterly unputdownable, insanely gripping." - Marian Keyes

"Girl A is truly the perfect book. Believe the hype – it really is that good." - Katie Lowe

"Girl A is extraordinary. Pitch black, forensic, and uncomfortably riveting, but with such a thread of humour and tenderness." - Beth Morrey

"Girl A isn’t just an astonishingly accomplished debut novel, it’s a masterpiece." - Louise O'Neill

"Harrowing but beautiful and surprising." - Adele Parks

"You’ll be thinking about GIRL A long after you turn the final page." - Victoria Selman

"Terrifyingly gripping." - Susie Steiner

"Powerful and immersive." - Harriet Tyce

"Remarkable in every way." - Chris Whitaker

"Beautifully written, compulsively readable." - Jen Williams

"So powerful." - Andrew Wilson


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Abigail Dean's Girl A


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors