New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    

Paul W Fairman

USA (1916 - 1977)

aka Ivar Jorgensen, F W Paul

Paul W. Fairman was an editor and writer in a variety of genres under his own name and pseudonyms. He published his first story in 1950 in Amazing Stories. Two years later, he was the founding editor of If, but only edited four issues. In 1955, he became the editor of Amazing Stories and Fantastic. He held that dual position until 1958.

After leaving Ziff-Davis, the magazines' publisher, he focused on writing his own work, often under different names. He ghost-wrote several juveniles, such as The Runaway Robot (1965), based on outlines by Lester del Rey, whose name appeared on the books. He also wrote the Sherlock Holmes part of Ellery Queen's A Study In Terror (1966), in which Ellery finds a previously unknown Sherlock Holmes manuscript.
The Penal Cluster (2009) (with Randall Garrett (as by Ivar Jorgensen) )
Series contributed to
Anthologies containing stories by Paul W Fairman
Short stories
Deadly City (1953)
The Cosmic Frame (1955)
The Body Hunters (1959)

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Philip José Farmer
Alan Dean Foster
Suzette Haden Elgin
Max Ehrlich
Stewart Farrar
Mick Farren
Nancy Farmer
R L Fanthorpe
Richard Grant
David Farland
Jane Fancher
Steven Erikson
Jennifer Fallon
Tracy Falbe
Jonathan Fast