Helen Simpson's picture
1 follower
1 book added

Helen Simpson

UK flag (b.1959)

Helen Simpson is an English novelist and short story writer. She was born in 1959 in Bristol, in the West of England, and went to a girls' school. She worked at Vogue for five years before her success in writing short stories meant she could afford to leave and concentrate full-time on her writing. Her first collection, Four Bare Legs in a Bed and Other Stories, won the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award while her book Hey Yeah Right Get A Life, a series of interlinked stories, won the Hawthornden Prize.

Genres: Literary Fiction
   Four Bare Legs in a Bed (1990)
   Unguarded Hours (1990) (with Ruth Rendell)
   Dear George (1995)
   Hey Yeah Right Get a Life (2000)
     aka Getting a Life
   Constitutional (2005)
   In the Driver's Seat (2007)
   In-flight Entertainment (2010)
   I'm with the Bears (2011) (with others)
   A Bunch of Fives (2012)
   Cockfosters (2015)
   Same Same but Different (2021) (with others)
Series contributed to
   Ox-Tales:Air (2009) (with others)
Books containing stories by Helen Simpson
Bodies from the Library 2 (2019)
(Bodies from the Library, book 2)
edited by
Tony Medawar
Head Land (2016)
10 Years of the Edge Hill Short Story Prize
edited by
Rodge Glass
Ghost (2015)
100 Stories to Read with the Lights On
edited by
Louise Welsh

More books 

1993 Granta Best of Young British Novelists
1991 Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award : Four Bare Legs in a Bed: And Other Stories

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors