book cover of A Ticket to Die for

A Ticket to Die for

(1998)
(The first book in the Wild Onion Ltd. series)
A novel by

 
 
Kirsten, the daughter of a cop and a former cop herself, is a private investigator with her own agency in Chicago. In fact, she met her husband, Dugan, at the police academy, but he dropped out and ended up in law school. Kirsten has persuaded him to help her out on a case once in a while, though he'd really rather not. The less he knows about her day-to-day investigative work the better. But Kirsten's latest case seems simple: A lawyer has hired her to find the friend of a client. This friend was a witness to a conversation between the lawyer and his client. The client has disappeared, and now the lawyer needs the witness. Kirsten asks Dugan to accompany her to the friend's workplace, an adult bookstore just southwest of the city near an underdeveloped stretch of a four-lane highway. A simple task. But when they arrive at Cousin Freddy's Adult Books, they find the cashier - the friend - dead in her chair, her neck broken. And suddenly their simple case is a whole lot more complicated and dangerous than they imagined.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"In the tradition of Hammet and Chandler. David J. Walker is a writer to watch." - Susan Dunlap


Used availability for David J Walker's A Ticket to Die for

Hardback Editions

October 1998 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A Ticket to Die for (Wild Onion Ltd. Mysteries)
Author(s): David J Walker
ISBN: 0-312-19345-9 / 978-0-312-19345-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

January 2012 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Ticket to Die For (Wild Onion, Ltd. Mystery Book 1)
Author(s): David J Walker
Publisher:
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU