Fitz-James O'Brien

(1828 - 1862)

Fitz-James O'Brien lived only 33 years -- from 1828 till 1862 -- but in his brief life he left a mark that endures today. O'Brien endures because he was a remarkable writer. Remarkable indeed! He had a way of blending of hard fact with almost-fanciful fantasy, juxtaposing technology and mysticism, creating convincing and "scientific" settings that play against the otherworldly romance. For all the weird fancifulness -- these days O'Brien is read mostly as a successor to Edgar Allan Poe -- his work has qualities we now associate with science fiction.
The Supernatural Tales of Fitz-James O'Brien
1. Macabre Tales (1988)
2. Dream Stories and Fantasies (1988)
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Fitz-James O'Brien
Short stories
An Arabian Nightmare (1851)
The Bohemian (1855)
The Spider's Eye (1856)
A Terrible Night (1856)
The Lost Room (1858)
What Was It? [short story] (1859)
The Wondersmith [short story] (1859)
The Child That Loved a Grave (1861)