Tea Obreht's picture

Téa Obreht

Yugoslavia (b.1985)

Téa Obreht was born in 1985 in the former Yugoslavia, and spent her childhood in Cyprus and Egypt before eventually immigrating to the United States in 1997. Her writing has been published in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, Harpers, Zoetrope: All-Story, The New York Times, and The Guardian, and has been anthologized in The Best American Short Stories and The Best American Non-Required Reading. She has been named by The New Yorker as one of the twenty best American fiction writers under forty and included in the National Book Foundations list of 5 Under 35. Téa Obreht lives in Ithaca, New York.

Genres: Literary Fiction
Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Best Book winner (2011) : The Tiger's Wife
National Book Award for Fiction Best Book nominee (2011) : The Tiger's Wife

Téa Obreht recommends
Get in Trouble (2014)
Kelly Link
"With Get in Trouble, Kelly Link continues to prove just how much of a literary tightrope walker she really is. Her prose is conveyed in details so startling and fine that each one is like a firework in the brain. You work up a sweat just waiting for the next sentence to land. This is why we read, crave, need, can't live without short stories."
The Unseen World (2016)
Liz Moore
"A staggeringly beautiful meditation on love, legacy and the emotional necessities that make life worth living."
The Marsh King's Daughter (2017)
Karen Dionne
"Eerie and breathtaking, terrific and terrifying in the best possible way."
West (2018)
Carys Davies
"West proves what in-the-know lovers of her short stories have already been trumpeting: Carys Davies is a deft, audacious visionary, a master of the form. In West, she breaks open our fascination with fated journeys and the irrepressible draw of the unknown, imbuing the American landscape with her own rare magic, twisting the heart as few others can, brilliantly navigating the tension between narrative minimalism and imaginative opulence."
The Great Believers (2018)
Rebecca Makkai
"Stirring, spellbinding and full of life."
The Mere Wife (2018)
Maria Dahvana Headley
"With a sharp eye and a deft flourish, Maria Dahvana Headley reimagines one of our oldest stories to give us a chilling, elemental vision of our latest selves. The Mere Wife is a bold, stunning riptide of a book."
The Lightness (2020)
Emily Temple
"A darkly funny, luminously drawn mystery that hits bullseye after bullseye of language and emotion. The Lightness is a book I didn't know I needed."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors