Melissa Scott's picture

Melissa Scott

USA flag (b.1960)

Melissa Scott is a science fiction and fantasy author noted for her science fiction novels featuring LGBT characters and elaborate settings. Scott studied history at Harvard College and Brandeis University, and earned her PhD. in comparative history. She published her first novel in 1984, and has since written some two dozen science fiction and fantasy works, including three co-authored with her partner, Lisa Barnett. Scott lived with her partner in Portsmouth, New Hampshire for 27 years, until the latter's death of breast cancer on May 2, 2006.

Genres: Science Fiction, Fantasy
Series contributed to
Stargate Atlantis: Legacy
   1. Homecoming (2010) (with Jo Graham)
   3. Allegiance (2011) (with Amy Griswold)
   5. Secrets (2012) (with Jo Graham)
   6. Inheritors (2013) (with Jo Graham)
   8. Third Path (2015) (with Jo Graham)
   Lost Queen (2015)
   The Wild Blue (2016)
   Pride of the Genii (2018)
Anthologies edited
   Heiresses of Russ 2014 (2014) (with Steve Berman)
Non fiction
John W. Campbell Best Book nominee (1985) : The Game Beyond
John W. Campbell Best New Author winner (1986)
John W. Campbell Best Book winner (1986) : The Game Beyond

Melissa Scott recommends
Neptune Crossing (1994)
(Chaos Chronicles, book 1)
Jeffrey A Carver
"Neptune Crossing gives the reader solid science, a complex and believable protagonist - an ordinary man rising to extraordinary circumstances - and an alien presence that is at once convincingly strange and deeply real. I'm really glad to have read this one."
Fallen Host (2002)
(LINK Angel, book 2)
Lyda Morehouse
"An intriguing new voice."
The Ravens of Falkenau (2011)
(Numinous World, book 3)
Jo Graham
"For fans of Jo Graham's Numinous World this book is a must!"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors