Colin Wilson's picture

Colin Wilson

UK flag (1931 - 2013)

Colin Henry Wilson was born and raised in Leicester, England, U.K. He left school at 16, worked in factories and various occupations, and read in his spare time. When Wilson was 24, Gollancz published The Outsider (1956) which examines the role of the social 'outsider' in seminal works of various key literary and cultural figures. These include Albert Camus, Jean-Paul Sartre, Ernest Hemingway, Hermann Hesse, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, William James, T. E. Lawrence, Vaslav Nijinsky and Vincent Van Gogh and Wilson discusses his perception of Social alienation in their work. The book was a best seller and helped popularize existentialism in Britain. Critical praise though, was short-lived and Wilson was soon widely criticized.

Genres: Science Fiction
Gerard Sorme
   1. Ritual in the Dark (1960)
   2. Man Without a Shadow (1963)
     aka The Sex Diary of Gerard Sorme
   3. The God of the Labyrinth (1970)
     aka The Hedonists
Spider World
   1. The Tower (1987)
   2. The Delta (1987)
   3. The Magician (1990)
   4. Shadowland (2002)
thumbno image availablethumb
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Sorry, we're not listing non fiction by this author
Anthologies containing stories by Colin Wilson
Short stories
The Return of Lloigor (1969)

Books about Colin Wilson
The Work of Colin Wilson (1990) by Boden Clarke (Robert Reginald) and Colin Stanley
Colin Wilson (1990) by Howard F Dossor
no image availablethumb