Rudy Rucker's picture
44 books added

Rudy Rucker

(Rudolf von Bitter Rucker)
USA flag (b.1946)

Rudy Rucker is a world-class mathematician and two-time winner of the Philip K. Dick Award. He is the author of the cyberpunk classics Software, Wetware and Freeware, as well as numerous other novels, including The Hollow Earth and The Hacker and the Ants. in addition to writing sf and popular mathematics books, he teaches computer science at San Jose State University in California and has co-authored a number of software programs, including an adaptation of James Gleick's Chaos and, more recently, a freeware flicker-cladding simulator known as CAPOW! He lives in Los Gatos, California.

Awards: Dick (1988), Dick (1982)  see all

Genres: Science Fiction
   1. Software (1982)
   2. Wetware (1988)
   3. Freeware (1997)
   4. Realware (2000)
   1. Postsingular (2007)
   2. Hylozoic (2009)
   White Light (1980)
   Spacetime Donuts (1981)
   The Sex Sphere (1983)
   Master of Space and Time (1984)
   The Secret of Life (1985)
   All the Visions (1993)
   The Hacker and the Ants (1994)
   Saucer Wisdom (1999)
   Spaceland (2002)
   As Above, So Below (2002)
   Frek and the Elixir (2004)
   Mathematicians in Love (2006)
   Jim and the Flims (2011)
   Turing & Burroughs (2012)
   The Big AHA (2013)
   Million Mile Road Trip (2019)
   Notes for Juicy Ghosts (2021)
   Juicy Ghosts (2021)
   The 57th Franz Kafka (1982)
   Transreal! (1991)
   Gnarl (2000)
   The Mad Professor (2006)
   Complete Stories (2012)
   Transreal Cyberpunk (2015) (with Bruce Sterling)
Novellas and Short Stories
   Jack and the Aktuals (2010)
   Good Night, Moon (2011) (with Bruce Sterling)
   Loco (2012) (with Bruce Sterling)
   Where the Lost Things Are (2014) (with Terry Bisson)
   Totem Poles (2016) (with Bruce Sterling)
Anthologies edited
   Mathenauts (1987)
   Semiotext(e) SF (1989) (with Peter Lamborn Wilson and Robert Anton Wilson)
Series contributed to
Non fiction show
Omnibus editions show
Rudy Rucker recommends
The Summer Thieves (2021)
(Quinary, book 1)
Paul Di Filippo
"Paul Di Filippo’s The Summer Thieves is a pure delight, a peak in his epic career. . . .The language is at the level of Pynchon or Nabokov, with frequent sentences taking on the clarity and balance of a koan. The reading flows with ‘an almost boneless, sinuous grace of movement.’ And our man’s erudition yields passages with the pleasing intricacy of encrusted Fabergé eggs. . . . Paul knows everything. One might well worship him as a god, were it not that 'the Fifth Postulate of Wetnoodle mandates otherwise.' Read The Summer Thieves."
Robot Artists and Black Swans (2021)
Bruce Sterling
"Sterling emerges as an Italian cultural figure, within hailing distance of Italo Calvino and Federico Fellini."
Strange Labour (2020)
Robert G Penner
"Robert Penner's Strange Labour is a road novel of crystalline exuberance--populated by mindless diggers, resourceful scrabblers, evil drifters, and the heroic Miranda. In the majority are the diggers, eternally bulldozing vast earth-works: cryptic nests of grooves that fill valleys with fluid patterns. Might the diggers be an objective correlative for today's info-tech workers? Individualists tend small farms or scavenge the deserted towns. Mad-Max-style bikers roam the landscape with dog-skulls on their handlebars. Resourceful Miranda has our sympathy throughout. Penner adorns his narrative with poetic evocations of this fallen world. Strange Labour is a book to savour and to love."

More recommendations 

Books containing stories by Rudy Rucker
Hieroglyph (2014)
Stories and Blueprints for a Better Future
edited by
Kathryn Cramer and Ed Finn
Wastelands 2 (2013)
More Stories of the Apocalypse
(Wastelands, book 2)
edited by
John Joseph Adams
Cyberpunk (2013)
Stories of Hardware, Software, Wetware, Revolution, and Evolution
edited by
Victoria Blake

More books 

1988 Philip K Dick Award : Wetware
1982 Philip K Dick Award : Software

Award nominations
2008 Locus Award for Best Novella (nominee) : Hormiga Canyon
2007 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : Mathematicians in Love
2006 BSFA Award for Best Short Fiction (nominee) : Guadalupe and Hieronymus Bosch
2005 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : Frek and the Elixir
2003 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : Spaceland: A Novel of the Fourth Dimension
1992 Locus Award for Best Collection (nominee) : Transreal!
1991 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : The Hollow Earth: The Narrative of Mason Algiers Reynolds of Virginia
1989 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : Wetware
1984 Locus Award for Best Collection (nominee) : The 57th Franz Kafka
1981 Locus Award for Best First Novel (nominee) : White Light: Or, What Is Cantor's Continuum Problem

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors