Frank Belknap Long's picture

Frank Belknap Long

USA flag (1903 - 1994)

aka Lyda Belknap Long

Frank Belknap Long was a prolific American writer of horror fiction, fantasy, science fiction, poetry, gothic romance, comic books, and non-fiction. Though his writing career spanned seven decades, he is best known for his horror and science fiction short stories, including early contributions to the Cthulhu Mythos. During his life, Long received the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement (at the 1978 World Fantasy Convention), the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement (in 1987, from the Horror Writers Association), and the First Fandom Hall of Fame Award (1977).

Genres: Mystery, Science Fiction, Horror
   The Horror from the Hills (1931)
   Space Station #1 (1957)
   Woman from Another Planet (1960)
   The Horror Expert (1961)
   Mars Is My Destination (1962)
   It Was the Day of the Robot (1963)
   The Martian Visitors (1964)
   Mission to a Star (1964)
   Lest Earth Be Conquered (1966)
     aka The Androids
   So Dark a Heritage (1966)
   This Strange Tomorrow (1966)
   Journey into Darkness (1967)
   The Three Faces of Time (1969)
   Monster from Out of Time (1970)
   Fire of the Witches (1971) (as by Lyda Belknap Long)
   The Witch Tree (1971) (as by Lyda Belknap Long)
   The Shape of Fear (1971) (as by Lyda Belknap Long)
   Survival World (1971)
   House of the Deadly Nightshade (1972) (as by Lyda Belknap Long)
   Legacy of Evil (1973) (as by Lyda Belknap Long)
   To the Dark Tower (1973) (as by Lyda Belknap Long)
   The Crucible of Evil (1974) (as by Lyda Belknap Long)
   The Lemoyne Heritage (1977) (as by Lyda Belknap Long)
   A Man from Genoa (poems) (1925)
   The Goblin Tower (1935)
   The Hounds of Tindalos (1946)
   John Carstairs: Space Detective (1949)
   The Ultimate Invader (1954) (with Malcolm Jameson, Murray Leinster and Eric Frank Russell)
   Odd Science Fiction (1963)
   The Dark Beasts (1964)
   The Rim of the Unknown (1972)
   The Black Druid (1975)
   The Early Long (1975)
   In Mayan Splender (1977)
   In Mayan Splendor (1977)
   When Chaugnar Wakes (1978)
   Night Fear (1979)
   The Challenge From Beyond (1990) (with Robert E Howard, H P Lovecraft, A Merritt and C L Moore)
   The Eye Above the Mantel (1995)
   The Man Who Died Twice (2009)
   Frank Belknap Long: Masters of the Weird Tale (2011)
   Frank Belknap Reader: Masters of Classic Sci-Fi (2012)
   Science Fiction Gems, Volume Four (2012) (with Poul Anderson, Ben Bova, Hugh B Cave, Randall Garrett, Fritz Leiber, Kris Neville, Jack Sharkey and Walt Sheldon)
   Classic Martian Stories, Vol. 5 (2013) (with Poul Anderson, Leigh Brackett, William Ferguson, George Griffith, Tom Leahy, Carey Rockwell, P H Sidney and Robert Silverberg)
   Science Fiction Gems, Volume 9 (2015) (with Ben Bova, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Mark Clifton, Randall Garrett, John Jakes, David H Keller, Rog Phillips, Jack Sharkey, Robert Sheckley and Evelyn E Smith)
   The Science Fiction Crime Megapack (2017) (with John Gregory Betancourt, Nelson S Bond, Lin Carter, David H Keller, Louis Newman, James Norman, Mack Reynolds, Ron Reynolds, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Charles V. De Vet, Edward Wellen, Robert Moore Williams, Richard Wilson, Robert Zacks and Arthur Leo Zagat)
   The Golden Age of Weird Fiction: Frank Belknap Long (2019)
   The Frank Belknap Long Science Fiction MEGAPACK (2021)
   The Fourth Frank Belknap Long Science Fiction MEGAPACK (2021)
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
no image availablethumb
Series contributed to
Black Cat Weekly
   41. Black Cat Weekly #41 (2022) (with Pat H Broeske, Hal Charles, Lester del Rey, Elisabeth Sanxay Holding, Malcolm Jameson, M A Monnin, G G Pendarves and Amy Wolf)
   53. Black Cat Weekly #53 (2022) (with Kathleen Alcalá, Leigh Brackett, Hal Charles, Lester del Rey, Garnett Elliott, Neil Plakcy, Carolyn Wells and Arthur Leo Zagat)
   74. Black Cat Weekly #74 (2023) (with Ray Bradbury, Hal Charles, Norbert Davis, Edmond Hamilton, James A Hearn, Phyllis Ann Karr, Murray Leinster, Neil Plakcy and Norman Spinrad)
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Frank Belknap Long
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
Short stories
The Flame Midget
Night Fear [short story]
Riddle of the Deadly Paradise
A Stitch in Time
We, the Invisible
When the Rains Came
Death Waters (1924)
The Desert Lich (1924)
The Ocean Leech (1925)
The Man with a Thousand Legs (1927)
The Space-Eaters (1928)
The Hounds of Tindalos [short story] (1929)
The Black Druid [short story] (1930)
Second Night Out (1933)
The Dark Beasts [short story] (1934)
Giants in the Sky (1939)
Johnny on the Spot (1939)
Census Taker (1942)
It Will Come to You (1942)
The Refugees (1942)
Step Into My Garden (1942)
Return of the Undead (1943) (with Otis Adelbert Kline)
The Critters (1945)
Humpty Dumpty Had a Great Fall (1948)
Maturity Night (1949)
Cottage Tenant (1974)
Dark Awakening (1980)
Lover in the Wildwood (1986)

World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement nominee (1975)
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement nominee (1976)
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (1976) : The Early Long
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement nominee (1977)
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement winner (1978)

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors