Lilian Jackson Braun's picture
Followed by 61 of our members

Lilian Jackson Braun

USA flag (1913 - 2011)

The history of Lilian Jackson Braun is perhaps as exciting and mysterious as her novels. Between 1966 and 1968, she published three novels to critical acclaim; The Cat Who Could Read Backwards, The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern and The Cat Who Turned On and Off. In 1966, The New York Times labeled Braun, "the new detective of the year." Then, for reasons unknown, the rising mystery author disappeared from the publishing scene.

It wasn't until 1986 that the Berkley Publishing Group reintroduced Braun to the public with the publication of an original paperback, The Cat Who Saw Red. Within two years, Berkley released four new novels in paperback and reprinted the three mysteries from the sixties.

Even though Braun claimed that her cats had never done anything extraordinary, her fictional cats, Koko and Yum Yum, solved crimes and delighted fans in book after book.

Genres: Mystery