Robert Coover's picture
59 books added

Robert Coover

(Robert Lowell Coover)
USA flag (b.1932)

Robert Coover has published fourteen novels, three short story collections, and a collection of plays since The Origin of the Brunists received the The William Faulkner Foundation First Novel Award in 1966. At Brown University, where he has taught for over thirty years, he established the International Writers Project, a program that provides an annual fellowship and safe haven to endangered international writers who face harassment, imprisonment, and suppression of their work in their home countries. In 1990-91, he launched the world's first hypertext fiction workshop, was one of the founders in 1999 of the Electronic Literature Organization, and in 2002 created CaveWriting, the first writing workshop in immersive virtual reality.

Genres: Historical
   Pricksongs and Descants (1969)
   A Theological Position (1972)
   In Bed One Night and Other Brief Encounters (1983)
   Aesops Forest and the Plot of Mice (1986) (with Brian Swann)
   A Night At the Movies (1987)
   Baseball and the Game of Life (1990) (with W P Kinsella)
   A Child Again (2005)
   Romance of the Thin Man and the Fat Lady (2011)
   Watchlist (2016) (with others)
   Going For a Beer (2018)
   Coover Stories (2024)
Novellas and Short Stories
Anthologies edited
no image available
Plays show
Omnibus editions show
Robert Coover recommends
The Mothering Coven (2009)
Joanna Ruocco
"Ruocco's Coven is an engagingly whimsical tale, graceful and inventive, with its own distinctive lexicon, reminiscent of the works of such writers as Ronald Firbank or Coleman Dowell. It toys with language and knowledge somewhat like the emerald-eyed black cat in the book toys with a large bird. Batting it about playfully. Coaxing something new out of it."
Dear Mr. President (2002)
Gabe Hudson
"Gabe Hudson's wacky dispatches from a wacky war chronicle - with the knife-edge humor of a fine stand-up comedian - America's twentieth-century decline from World War heroism through hubristic tragedy to black farce."

Books containing stories by Robert Coover
Watchlist (2015)
32 Stories by Persons of Interest
edited by
Bryan Hurt
Field of Fantasies (2014)
Baseball Stories of the Strange and Supernatural
edited by
Rick Wilber

More books 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors