Stanley Ellin's picture

Stanley Ellin

(Stanley Bernard Ellin)
USA flag (1916 - 1986)

Stanley Ellin was born in Brooklyn, New York, and educated at Brooklyn College. He worked as a teacher, a steelworked and a dairy farmer, and served in the US Army in World War 2, before becoming a full-time writer in 1946. His first published short story, 'The Speciality of the House' caused an immediate sensation and won him a special Ellery Queen Award. He won two Edgars for short stories, as well as one for The Eighth Circle, Le Grand Prix du Meilleur Roman Policier Etranger for Mirror, Mirror on the Wall and was made a Grand Master of the Mystery Writers of America in 1980.

Genres: Mystery
Anthologies containing stories by Stanley Ellin
Short stories
The Moment of Decision
Fool's Mate (1948)
The Cat's-Paw (1949)
The Nine-To-Five Man (1961)
Beidenbauer's Flea (1964)
The Orderly World of Mr. Appleby (1964)

Stanley Ellin recommends
The Green Stone (1961)
(Inspector Miguel Menendes, book 1)
Suzanne Blanc
"The Green Stone is a spellbinding experience."
For Special Services (1982)
(James Bond, book 17)
John Gardner
"...The reader will do better to head for anything by Mr. Gardner that isn't imitation Fleming. As pure Gardner, he is quite a writer."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors