M R James's picture

M R James

(Montague Rhodes James)
UK flag (1862 - 1936)

Genres: Horror
Series contributed to
Non fiction
   Abbeys (1925)
Anthologies containing stories by M R James
Great Ghost Stories (1918)
Great Short Stories of Detection, Mystery and Horror 1st Series (1928)
Shudders (1929)
A Second Century of Creepy Stories (1930)
A Century of Creepy Stories (1934)
Great Short Stories of Detection, Mystery and Horror 3rd Series (1934)
The Mystery Book (1934)
A Century of Thrillers 2nd Series (1935)
A Century of Ghost Stories (1936)
The Mammoth Book of Thrillers, Ghosts and Mysteries (1936)
Alfred Hitchcock Presents (1957)
The Haunted Looking Glass (1959)
Spine Chillers (1961)
Tales of the Supernatural (1962)
Small Shadows Creep (1963)
Sleep No More (1964)
Best Horror Stories 2 (1965)
Everyman's Book of Classic Horror Stories (1965)
Medley Macabre (1966)
The 4th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1967)
The House of the Nightmare (1967)
Hauntings (1968)
The Midnight People (1968)
Mind at Bay (1969)
Mind in Chains (1970)
A Century of Horror (1971)
The 7th Fontana Book of Great Horror Stories (1972)
The Edge of Never (1973)
The Nightmare Reader Volume 2 (1973)
Summoned from the Tomb (1973)
Great British Short Stories (1974)
A Little Night Reading (1974)
Christopher Lee's New Chamber of Horrors (1974)
Fear (1975)
The Ghost's Companion (1975)
Gaslight Tales of Terror (1976)
Classic Tales of Horror (1976)
Tales of the Dark 2 (1977)
The Rivals of Dracula (1977)
Christopher Lee's Archives of Evil (1977)
Chamber of Horrors (1978)
Sixty-Five Great Tales of the Supernatural (1979)
The 16th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1980)
The Twilight Zone (1983)
Black Water (1983)
Dark Company (1984)
The Penguin Book of Ghost Stories (1984)
The Penguin Book of Horror Stories (1984)
Realms of Darkness (1985)
The Colour of Evil (1987)
Classic Ghost Stories II (1990)
The Mammoth Book of Vampires (1992)
Nursery Crimes (1993)
Ghost Movies (1995)
The Mammoth Book of Victorian and Edwardian Ghost Stories (1995)
Supernatural Stories (1995)
100 Tiny Tales of Terror (1996)
The Oxford Book of Twentieth-Century Ghost Stories (1996)
Blood Thirst (1997)
Dancing with the Dark (1997)
The Mammoth Book of Haunted House Stories (2000)
My Favorite Horror Story (2000)
thumbno image availableno image availablethumb
no image availableno image availablethumbno image available
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
thumbthumbthumbno image available
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
Short stories
Canon Alberic's Scrap Book (1895)
Lost Hearts (1895)
The Ash-Tree (1904)
Casting the Runes [short story] (1904)
Count Magnus (1904)
The Mezzotint (1904)
Number 13 (1904)
'Oh Whistle, and I'll Come to You, My Lad' (1904)
The Treasure of Abbot Thomas (1904)
Martin's Close (1911)
Mr Humphreys and His Inheritance (1911)
The Rose Garden (1911)
A School Story (1911)
The Story of a Disappearance and an Appearance (1913)
The Diary of Mr Poynter (1919)
An Episode of Cathedral History (1919)
The Residence at Whitminster (1919)
Two Doctors (1919)
A Neighbour's Landmark (1924)
An Evening's Entertainment (1925)
The Haunted Dolls' House (1925)
The Uncommon Prayer-Book (1925)
A View from a Hill (1925)
A Warning to the Curious [short story] (1925)
Wailing Well (1928)
The Rats (1929)
After Dark in the Playing Fields (1931)
A Ghostly Cry (1931)
There was a Man Dwelt by a Churchyard (1931)
The Malice of Inanimate Objects (1933)
A Vignette (1936)

Books about M R James