Reginald Bretnor's picture

Reginald Bretnor

Russia (1911 - 1992)

aka Grendel Briarton

US writer and anthologist, born Alfred Reginald Kahn he changed his name legally to Bretnor after World War Two in Vladivostok, Siberia, but resident in the US from 1920; active after World War Two in a number of genres as an author of both fiction and nonfiction. His interest in military theory, which first generated articles and Decisive Warfare (1969), later inspired the The Future at War series of anthologies.

Genres: Science Fiction, Mystery
Series contributed to
Black Cat Weekly
   2. Black Cat Weekly #2 (2021) (with David Brin, Hal Charles, Jeff Cohen, Leslie Ford, Randall Garrett, Frank Lovell Nelson, Geoff St Reynard, Hugh Walpole and Robert F Young)
   7. Black Cat Weekly #7 (2021) (with John Gregory Betancourt, Hal Charles, Andy Duncan, Milton Lesser, Ruth Malone, Adam Meyer, A R Morlan, Frank Lovell Nelson and Frank M Robinson)
Anthology series
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Reginald Bretnor
Short stories
Old Uncle Tom Cobleigh and All
Maybe Just a Little One (1947)
The Gnurrs Come from the Voodvork Out (1950)
The Man on Top (1951)
Mating Season (1952)
Cat (1953)
Bug-Getter (1960)
All the Tea In China (1961)
Dr Birdmouse (1962)
Earthwoman (1967)Nebula Awards (nominee)
Paper Tiger (1969)
Party Night (1969)
The Beasts That Perish (1977)
Markham (1978)
Without (General) Issue (1981)
Croome House (1985)
Fungo the Unrighteous (1986)
Aunt's Flight (1988)
The Murderers' Circle (1988)
Unknown Things (1989)

Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1968) : Earthwoman

Books about Reginald Bretnor
The Work of Reginald Bretnor (1989) by Scott Alan Burgess and Boden Clarke (Robert Reginald)
no image available

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors