Lisa Tuttle's picture
Followed by 2 of our members

Lisa Tuttle

USA flag (b.1952)
Wife of Colin Murray

aka Maria Palmer

Lisa Tuttle was born and raised in Houston, Texas, where she began writing as a child. She made her first short story sales while a student at Syracuse University in New York, and won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 1974. She has worked as a journalist in both America and Britain, and has reviewed science fiction and fantasy for The Times. In 1990 she moved to the Scottish Highlands, where she lives with her husband, also a novelist, and her daughter.

Genres: Science Fiction, Historical Mystery, Horror
Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Lisa Tuttle
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
Short stories
Dollburger (1972)
Stranger in the House (1972)
Changelings (1975)
The Storms of Windhaven (1975) (with George R R Martin)Hugo (nominee)
Nebula Awards (nominee)
Stone Circle (1976)Nebula Awards (nominee)
The Family Monkey (1977)
The Horse Lord (1977)
In the Arcade (1978)
Wives (1979)
Bug House (1980)
Community Property (1980)
One-Wing (1980) (with George R R Martin)Hugo (nominee)
The Other Mother (1980)
Sun City (1980)
Where the Stones Grow (1980)
The Bone Flute (1981)Nebula Awards
A Friend in Need (1981)
Need (1981)
Treading the Maze (1981)
The Memory of Wood (1982)
The Other Room (1982)
The Nest (1983)
Flying to Byzantium (1985)
Riding the Nightmare (1986)
Jamie's Grave (1987)
Memories of the Body [short story] (1987)
Mr Elphinstone's Hands (1989)
The Walled Garden (1989)
Bits and Pieces (1990)
Replacements (1992)
Lucy Maria (1993)
Food Man (1994)
White Lady's Grave (1995)
Background: The Dream (1996)
The Extra Hour (1997)
A Dress (1998)
My Pathology [short story] (1998)
Belonging (1999)
Haunts (2000)

John W. Campbell Best New Author winner (1974)
Hugo Best Novella nominee (1976) : The Storms of Windhaven
Nebula Awards Best Novella nominee (1976) : The Storms of Windhaven
Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1977) : Stone Circle
Hugo Best Novella nominee (1981) : One-Wing
Nebula Awards Best Short Story winner (1982) : The Bone Flute
Arthur C. Clarke Award Best Book nominee (1993) : Lost Futures
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1996) : The Pillow Friend