Bret Harte

USA flag (1839 - 1902)

Bret Harte loved the West and its people. Bret Harte was born in Albany, New York, in 1839. His father was a professor of Greek at Albany College, and died during the boyhood of his son. Bret Harte, after a common school education, went with his mother to California at the age of seventeen. There he became a jack of all trades, but, contrary to the old saying, he became master of one - short story writing. At various times he was a teacher, miner, printer, express messenger, secretary of the San Francisco Mint, and editor.

The stir of life in San Francisco stimulated Bret Harte in the years following the gold rush of 1849. Here he found human nature in the raw. There was no veneer. The community had not yet turned aside from digging and panning, winning and losing, long enough to look to its lawless community affairs. It is as a story teller that Bret Harte painted the most thrilling pictures of that time.

Bret Harte wrote a great deal. Forty-four volumes were published by him between 1867 and 1898. He was professor in the University of California for one year. He moved to New York in 1871 and lived there until 1878. During the next two years he was United States Consul at Crefeld, Germany, and from 1880 to 1885 Consul at Glasgow. Thereafter he lived in London, engaged in literary work. Bret Harte died at Camberley, England, on May 5, 1902.
Plain Language for Truthful James (1870)
Gabriel Conroy (1875)
Two Men of Sandy Bar (1876)
Drift from Two Shores (1878)
On the Frontier (1884)
By Shore and Sedge (1885)
Queen of Pirate Isle (1886)
Snow-bound at Eagle's (1886)
A Millionaire of Rough-And-ready (1887)
The Argonauts of North Liberty (1888)
A Phyllis of the Sierras (1888)
Cressy (1889)
Susy, a Story of the Plains (1893)
Clarence (1895)
From Sand Hill to Pine (1900)
On the Old Trail (1902)
Openings In The Old Trail (1902)
Salomy Jane's Kiss (1910)
Heathen Chinee and Wanlee, the Pagan (1924)
The Story of Enriquez (1924)
Harte's Complete Works (1929)
A Night At Wingdam (1936)
The Right Eye of the Commander (1937)
Santa Claus at Simpson's bar (1939)
Dickens in Camp (1944)
Mliss (1948)
Berkeley (1951)
Heir of the McHulishes (1970)
The Girl from Pike County (1976)
Cas-Puss in Boots (1988)
Gold Rush (1996)
Captain Jim's Friend (2001)
The Convalescence of Jack Hamlin (2001)
The Devotion of Enriguez (2001)
Dick Boyle's Business Card (2001)
The Idyl of Red Gulch (2001)
A California Romance (2001)
Jeff Briggs's Love Story (2002)
Devil's Ford (2003)
Bohemian Days in San Francisco (2004)
Bulger's Reputation (2004)
A Convert Of The Mission (2004)
An Episode Of Fiddletown (2004)
High-Water Mark (2004)
How Ruben Allen 'Saw Life' in San Francisco (2004)
In The Tules (2004)
The Indiscretion of Elsbeth (2004)
Jimmy's Big Brother From California (2004)
A Lonely Ride (2004)
The Man of No Account (2004)
The Mermaid of Light House Point (2004)
A Mother Of Five (2004)
Notes By Flood and Field (2004)
A Romance Of The Line (2004)
Three Vagabonds of Trinidad (2004)
Under The Eaves (2004)
A Vision Of The Fountain (2004)
A Widow Of The Santa Ana Valley (2004)
A Yellow Dog (2004)
The Youngest Miss Piper (2004)
Found At Blazing Star (2004)
Fascinating San Francisco (2005)
Her Letter, His Answer and Her Last Letter (2005)
An Apostle of the Tules (2005)
A Bluegrass Penelope (2005)
The Conspiracy of Mrs. Bunker (2005)
A Drift from Redwood Camp (2005)
Left Out on Lone Star Mountain (2005)
A Secret of Telegraph Hill (2005)
A Ship of '49 (2005)
Spanish and American Legends (2005)
Their Uncle from California (2005)
The Transformation of Buckeye Camp (2005)
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbno image available
thumbno image availablethumbno image available
no image availableno image availablethumbno image available
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
no image availableno image availablethumbthumb
Outcroppings (poems) (1866)
The Luck of Roaring Camp (1870)
Poems (poems) (1871)
East and West (poems) (1871)
The Little Drummer (1872)
Stories of the Sierras (1872)
Mrs. Skaggs's Husbands (1873)
Echoes of the Foot-Hills (1875)
Tales of the Argonauts (1875)
Wan Lee (1876)
Thankful Blossom (1877)
The Story of a Mine (1878)
The Twins of Table Mountain (1879)
The Poetical Works of Bret Harte (poems) (1880)
Flip, and Other Stories (1882)
In the Carquinez Woods (1883)
Maruja (1885)
The Crusade of the Excelsior (1887)
Tales, Poems and Sketches (1887)
     aka Tales, Poems and Sketches of Bret Harte
Heritage of Dedlow Marsh (1889)
A Waif of the Plains (1890)
A Ward of the Golden Gate (1890)
A First Family of Tasajara (1891)
A Sappho of Green Springs (1891)
Colonel Starbottle's Client (1892)
Sally Dows (1893)
The Bell-Ringer of Angel's (1894)
A Protegee of Jack Hamlin's (1894)
In a Hollow of the Hills (1895)
Barker's Luck (1896)
The Three Partners (1897)
Stories in Light and Shadow (1898)
Tales of Trail and Town (1898)
The Complete Poetical Works of Bret Harte (poems) (1899)
Miggles (1899)
Mr. Jack Hamlin's Mediation (1899)
The Ancestors of Peter Atherly (1900)
Under the Redwoods (1901)
The Best of Bret Harte (1902)
Tales of the West (1902)
A Niece of Snapshot Harry's (1903)
A Treasure of the Redwoods (1903)
Trent's Trust (1903)
The Complete Works of Bret Harte (1911)
Poems and Stories (1912)
Tales of the Pine and the Cypress (1912)
Tennessee's Partner (1912)
Stories and Poems (1914)
The Works of Bret Harte (1914)
Sketches of the Sixties (1926) (with Mark Twain)
     aka California Sketches
The Wild West (1930)
Selected Stories of Bret Harte (1932)
Selected Western Stories and Poems (1932)
Bret Harte's Stories of the Old West (1940)
Greatest Short Stories (1940)
How Santa Claus Came to Simpson's Bar (1940)
Tales of the Gold Rush (1944)
The Best Short Stories of Bret Harte (1947)
Bret Harte's Western Stories (1949)
The Outcasts of Poker Flat (1952)
Mystery Tales for Boys and Girls (1963)
Stories of the Early West (1964)
Harte of the West 17 Stories (1966)
     aka Harte of the West, 17 stories by Bret Harte (Laurel-leaf library) (Laurel-leaf library)
Nine Sketches (1967)
California Stories (1984)
Bret Harte the Goldrush Storyteller (1986)
The Lost Galleon (1987)
The Ransom of Red Chief (1990)
Illiad of Sandy Bar (1992)
Sketches, Stories and Bohemian Papers (2002)
Urban Sketches (2002)
New Burlesques (2003)
Frontier Stories (2004)
Old West in the Old World (2006) (with Sam Davis)
The Wild 'West' Bunch (2018) (with B M Bower, Bill C Cannon, J W Collins, Carl Dane and Zane Grey)
no image availableno image availablethumbthumb
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
no image availableno image availableno image availablethumb
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
no image availablethumbthumbno image available
no image availablethumbthumbno image available
no image availablethumbthumbno image available
no image availableno image availablethumb
Short Stories