Rex Miller's picture

Rex Miller

(Rex Miller Spangberg)
USA flag (1939 - 2004)

Rex Miller, born Rex Miller Spangberg, wrote novels detailing the investigations of Jack Eichord, a fictional homicide detective who specialized in tracking down serial killers. Slob, the first novel of the series, introduced Daniel Bunkowski, a half-ton, killing-machine serial killer. For this novel Rex miller was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for Best First Novel. Other books in the series include Frenzy, Slice, Savant, and Stone Shadow.

Spangberg also wrote Profane Men, a novel set during the Vietnam War, in addition to the limited-edition novel St. Louis Blues. Spangberg resurrected Daniel Bunkowski for three novels, Chaingang, Savant, and Butcher, that take place outside of the continuity of the Eichord series.

Rex Miller Spangberg was also a popular disc jockey in the 1960's, and was considered an expert in the field of juvenile-related collectibles, particularly old time radio premiums. Spangberg died in Sikeston, Missouri on May 21, 2004.

Genres: Horror
   1. Slob (1987)
   Frenzy (1988)
   Profane Men (1989)
   Stone Shadow (1989)
   2. Slice (1990)
   Iceman (1990)
   3. Chaingang (1992)
   4. Savant (1994)
   5. Butcher (1994)
   Saint Louis Blues (1992)
   Pirate Radio (2009) (with John Maclay)
Anthologies containing stories by Rex Miller

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors