Thomas F Monteleone's picture

Thomas F Monteleone

USA flag (b.1946)

Thomas F. Monteleone is an American science fiction author and horror fiction author. His first novel, Seeds of Change was the lead-off title in the critically unsuccessful Laser Books line of science fiction titles, but he went on to become a popular writer of supernatural thrillers. He is no relation to Chicago Outfit mobster Tom Monteleone.

Monteleone has been a professional writer since 1972, and 4-time winner of the Bram Stoker Award. He has published more than 100 short stories in numerous magazines and anthologies. His stories have been nominated for many awards, and have appeared in lots of best-of-the-year compilations.

His notorious column of opinion and entertainment, "The Mothers And Fathers Italian Association," currently appears in Cemetery Dance magazine. He is the editor of seven anthologies, including the highly acclaimed Borderlands series edited with his wife, Elizabeth, of which, Borderlands 5, won a Bram Stoker Award in 2003.

He has written for the stage and television, having scripts produced for American Playhouse (which won him the Bronze Award at the International TV and Film Festival of New York and the Gabriel Award), George Romero's Tales from the Darkside, and a series on Fox TV entitled Night Visions. He has written many feature-length screenplays, none of which have been produced.

Genres: Science Fiction, Horror, Young Adult Fantasy
   1. Guardian (1980)
   2. Ozymandias (1981)
   Seeds of Change (1975)
   The Time Connection (1976)
   The Time-Swept City (1977)
   The Secret Sea (1979)
   Night Things (1980)
   Night Train (1984)
   Lyrica (1986)
   The Magnificent Gallery (1987)
   The Crooked House (1987) (with John DeChancie)
   Fantasma (1989)
   The Blood of the Lamb (1992)
   The Resurrectionist (1995)
   Between Floors (1997)
   Night of Broken Souls (1997)
   The Reckoning (1999)
   Eyes of the Virgin (2002)
   Submerged (2015)
   Dark Stars (1981)
   Rough Beasts (2003)
   Fearful Symmetries (2004)
Novellas and Short Stories
   When Dark Descends (2006) (with Charles L Grant)
   Timewalker (2022)
Anthologies edited
   Random Access Messages of the Computer Age (1984)
   Microworlds (1985)
   Borderlands, Volume One (1990)
   Borderlands 2 (1991)
   Borderlands 3 (1991)
   Borderlands 4 (1995) (with Elizabeth E Monteleone)
   Borderlands 5 (2003) (with Elizabeth E Monteleone)
   From the Borderlands (2004) (with Elizabeth E Monteleone)
Series contributed to
Never Fear
   Never Fear - Phobias (2015) (with others)
   Never Fear - Christmas Terrors (2015) (with others)
   Never Fear - The Apocalypse (2017) (with others)
Graphic Novels show
Non fiction show
Thomas F Monteleone recommends
Lord of the Feast (2024)
Tim Waggoner
"For the past twenty years, Tim Waggoner has been building his reputation as a true master of the uniquely strange and disturbing tale."
Die You Doughnut Bastards (2012)
Cameron Pierce
"Like William S. Burroughs on crack!"
Cemetery Girl (2011)
David Bell
"David Bell is one of the best of the new voices of his generation. He writes with a clarity of both vision and purpose, and his characters are eerily familiar because they are just like you and me. Trust me--you're gonna like this guy."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Thomas F Monteleone
The Best of Cemetery Dance, Volume 2 (2020)
(Best of Cemetery Dance, book 2)
edited by
Richard Chizmar

More anthologies 

Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1977) : Breath's a Ware That Will Not Keep
Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1978) : Camera Obscura
Bram Stoker Best Novel winner (1993) : The Blood of the Lamb
Bram Stoker Best Novellette nominee (1996) : Looking for Mr Flip

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors