Lori Nelson Spielman's picture
3 followers

Lori Nelson Spielman


USA flag

Lori Nelson Spielman lives in East Lansing, Michigan, with her husband and a very spoiled cat. A former speech pathologist and guidance counselor, she currently works as a homebound teacher for inner-city students. Lori enjoys fitness running, traveling, and reading, though writing is her true passion. She spends her winters cursing the god-awful Michigan winters, and her summers sailing the glorious shores of Lake Michigan. THE LIFE LIST is Lori's first novel.

Genres: Historical
 
Lori Nelson Spielman recommends
thumb
Come Away with Me (2015)
Karma Brown
"Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat Pray Love will flock to this novel."
thumb
No Ordinary Life (2016)
Suzanne Redfearn
"Once again, Suzanne Redfearn delivers a fast-paced, compelling story of family, frustration, and the unexpected consequences of a mother's choice. NO ORDINARY LIFE provides a dazzling look inside the entertainment industry, illustrating both the lure and lunacy of child stardom. A gripping story, with twists and turns...and characters I felt close to and rooted for."
thumb
The Dressmaker's Dowry (2017)
Meredith Jaeger
"In this deliciously satisfying tale of love and resilience, Meredith Jaeger sweeps us into nineteenth century San Francisco, painting harrowing images of poverty alongside excesses of wealth, weaving a multi-generational novel impossible to put down."
thumb
Unstrung (2017)
Laura Spinella
"Spinella’s writing is flawless and her story-telling captivating. A must-read for anyone who has ever looked back and wondered, ‘What if…’"
thumb
Every Wild Heart (2017)
Meg Donohue
"Brava, Meg Donohue! Part love story, part mystery, I devoured this novel. Everything I love about women’s fiction is tucked within these pages-strong and vivid characters, an intriguing plot, a beautiful love story with a dash of mystery… and bonus, horses!"
thumb
Mrs. Saint and the Defectives (2017)
Julie Lawson Timmer
"I savored every page of this delicious novel. Charming and poignant, funny and wise, Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is perfect for fans of Fredrik Backman and Anne Tyler."
thumb
Good Luck with That (2018)
Kristan Higgins
"Wholly original and heartfelt, written with grace and sensitivity, Good Luck with That is an irresistible tale of love, friendship, and self acceptance—and the way body image can sabotage all three."
thumb
We Hope for Better Things (2019)
Erin Bartels
"Storytelling at its finest. A timely, sobering, moving account of how far we've come . . . and how much distance remains to be covered."
thumb
Woman on the Edge (2019)
Samantha M Bailey
"A captivating thriller. . . . Bailey masterfully spins a chilling tale of deceit and duplicity that will have you guessing until the very end. Filled with unexpected twists, tight prose, and penetrating characters, this novel heralds the arrival of an immensely talented author."
thumb
Who Rescued Who (2020)
Victoria Schade
"Move over Marley and Enzo—there’s a new dog in town! Fans of John Grogan and Garth Stein will delight in Victoria Schade’s heartwarming new novel, Who Rescued Who. With crackling, whip smart dialogue and a touching story of redemption, Schade illustrates what it means to be rescued from our worst selves, and transformed into our best. Chock full of heart and humor, anyone who has ever been redeemed by the love of a dog will treasure this uplifting, big-hearted novel. A treat from start to finish!"
thumb
Brunch and Other Obligations (2020)
Suzanne Nugent
"Brunch and Other Obligations is women’s fiction at its finest! A tender, witty, heartfelt novel that had me laughing out loud in one chapter and reaching for tissues in the next. With humor, heart, and hope, Nugent reminds us that, once in a lifetime, if we’re very, very lucky, we just might find a friend who knows us better than we know ourselves."
thumb
Paris is Always a Good Idea (2020)
Jenn McKinlay
"Eat Pray Love meets Mamma Mia! I devoured this clever novel in one sitting!"
thumb
Well-Behaved Indian Women (2020)
Saumya Dave
"Well-Behaved Indian Women is a lesson in dreaming passionately, loving deeply, and living authentically. Dave reminds us that it's never too late to resurrect an abandoned dream. This stunning debut is a celebration of women-- their loves and loyalties, dreams and disappointments, hopes and heartbreaks."
thumb
The Night Portrait (2020)
Laura Morelli
"Laura Morelli’s The Night Portrait is simply a masterpiece. Morelli imagines a sophisticated plot, fleshes it out with historically significant characters, and spins it into a truly spectacular read. Rarely have I been so caught up in a book as I was with this unforgettable tale of bravery and love, hope and redemption. Fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See will delight in this epic novel."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors