Lori Nelson Spielman's picture
16 followers

Lori Nelson Spielman


USA flag

Lori Nelson Spielman lives in East Lansing, Michigan, with her husband and a very spoiled cat. A former speech pathologist and guidance counselor, she currently works as a homebound teacher for inner-city students. Lori enjoys fitness running, traveling, and reading, though writing is her true passion. She spends her winters cursing the god-awful Michigan winters, and her summers sailing the glorious shores of Lake Michigan. THE LIFE LIST is Lori's first novel.
 

Genres: Historical
 
Lori Nelson Spielman recommends
thumb
Come Away with Me (2015)
Karma Brown
"Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat Pray Love will flock to this novel."
thumb
No Ordinary Life (2016)
Suzanne Redfearn
"Once again, Suzanne Redfearn delivers a fast-paced, compelling story of family, frustration, and the unexpected consequences of a mother's choice. NO ORDINARY LIFE provides a dazzling look inside the entertainment industry, illustrating both the lure and lunacy of child stardom. A gripping story, with twists and turns...and characters I felt close to and rooted for."
thumb
The Dressmaker's Dowry (2017)
Meredith Jaeger
"In this deliciously satisfying tale of love and resilience, Meredith Jaeger sweeps us into nineteenth century San Francisco, painting harrowing images of poverty alongside excesses of wealth, weaving a multi-generational novel impossible to put down."
thumb
Unstrung (2017)
Laura Spinella
"Spinella’s writing is flawless and her story-telling captivating. A must-read for anyone who has ever looked back and wondered, ‘What if…’"
thumb
Every Wild Heart (2017)
Meg Donohue
"Brava, Meg Donohue! Part love story, part mystery, I devoured this novel. Everything I love about women’s fiction is tucked within these pages-strong and vivid characters, an intriguing plot, a beautiful love story with a dash of mystery… and bonus, horses!"
thumb
Mrs. Saint and the Defectives (2017)
Julie Lawson Timmer
"I savored every page of this delicious novel. Charming and poignant, funny and wise, Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is perfect for fans of Fredrik Backman and Anne Tyler."
thumb
Good Luck with That (2018)
Kristan Higgins
"Wholly original and heartfelt, written with grace and sensitivity, Good Luck with That is an irresistible tale of love, friendship, and self acceptance—and the way body image can sabotage all three."
thumb
We Hope for Better Things (2019)
Erin Bartels
"Storytelling at its finest. A timely, sobering, moving account of how far we've come . . . and how much distance remains to be covered."
thumb
Woman on the Edge (2019)
Samantha M Bailey
"A captivating thriller. . . . Bailey masterfully spins a chilling tale of deceit and duplicity that will have you guessing until the very end. Filled with unexpected twists, tight prose, and penetrating characters, this novel heralds the arrival of an immensely talented author."
thumb
Who Rescued Who (2020)
Victoria Schade
"Move over Marley and Enzo—there’s a new dog in town! Fans of John Grogan and Garth Stein will delight in Victoria Schade’s heartwarming new novel, Who Rescued Who. With crackling, whip smart dialogue and a touching story of redemption, Schade illustrates what it means to be rescued from our worst selves, and transformed into our best. Chock full of heart and humor, anyone who has ever been redeemed by the love of a dog will treasure this uplifting, big-hearted novel. A treat from start to finish!"
thumb
Brunch and Other Obligations (2020)
Suzanne Nugent
"Brunch and Other Obligations is women’s fiction at its finest! A tender, witty, heartfelt novel that had me laughing out loud in one chapter and reaching for tissues in the next. With humor, heart, and hope, Nugent reminds us that, once in a lifetime, if we’re very, very lucky, we just might find a friend who knows us better than we know ourselves."
thumb
Paris is Always a Good Idea (2020)
Jenn McKinlay
"Eat Pray Love meets Mamma Mia! I devoured this clever novel in one sitting!"
thumb
Well-Behaved Indian Women (2020)
Saumya Dave
"Well-Behaved Indian Women is a lesson in dreaming passionately, loving deeply, and living authentically. Dave reminds us that it's never too late to resurrect an abandoned dream. This stunning debut is a celebration of women-- their loves and loyalties, dreams and disappointments, hopes and heartbreaks."
thumb
The Night Portrait (2020)
Laura Morelli
"Laura Morelli’s The Night Portrait is simply a masterpiece. Morelli imagines a sophisticated plot, fleshes it out with historically significant characters, and spins it into a truly spectacular read. Rarely have I been so caught up in a book as I was with this unforgettable tale of bravery and love, hope and redemption. Fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See will delight in this epic novel."
thumb
The Museum of Forgotten Memories (2020)
Anstey Harris
"One of my favorite books of 2020—I savored every word of this gorgeous novel. Harris proves, once again, that she is a storyteller extraordinaire. The Museum of Forgotten Memories is, quite simply, superb."
thumb
The Break-Up Book Club (2021)
Wendy Wax
"The Break-Up Book Club is a glorious celebration of female friendships and empowerment. Once again, Wendy Wax, the queen of women's fiction, hits a homerun. She shows us what it means to be let down, only to be lifted up, higher and more determined than ever.... A heartfelt lesson in the beauty of book clubs, where people of every age, race, and social status unite behind their love of words, and ultimately, each other. Every town should have a Break-Up Book Club!"
thumb
Lizzie & Dante (2021)
Mary Bly
"Prepare to be swept away on an Italian holiday, one that sizzles with romance, intrigue, and mouthwatering cuisine."
thumb
To Sir, With Love (2021)
Lauren Layne
"Fans of Nora Ephron will adore this ... Lauren Layne puts a fresh spin on a favorite classic, creating a charming, witty, heartfelt tale of hope and love and second chances."
thumb
30 Things I Love About Myself (2022)
Radhika Sanghani
"I adored everything about this hilarious, clever, uplifting novel! 30 Things I Love About Myself is a laugh-out-loud, feel-good novel that will leave you inspired and hopeful and downright happy! A truly gifted storyteller... Sanghani's charmingly flawed characters are so lovable and authentic you'll feel like you're part of the Mistry family. In turns uproariously funny and tenderly touching, 30 Things I Love About Myself is the perfect antidote for today's stressful world."
thumb
The Myth of Surrender (2022)
Kelly O'Connor McNees
"A brave and important book. McNees's literary acumen is on full display in this beautiful, deeply affecting novel. She explores what it meant to be unwed and pregnant in mid-century America with sensitivity, erudition, and first-rate storytelling. Impossible to put down, this is a spell-binding tale of deceit, abuse, and ultimately, reclamation."
thumb
The Next Thing You Know (2022)
Jessica Strawser
"Jessica Strawser does it again-first-rate storytelling, a fresh, unique premise, and a didn't-see-that-coming twist, resulting in a book that's unputdownable! Strawser spins a wise, thought-provoking story that crackles with tension and intrigue. Perfect for book clubs, The Next Thing You Know will have you pondering end-of-life issues, and guessing the final, shocking twist."
thumb
Everything Must Go (2022)
Camille Pagán
"I adored Everything Must Go! There is so much wisdom and heart packed into these pages, and the Francis sisters stole my heart; I found myself wishing I were part of this complicated, lively, and lovable family. A beautiful exploration of love and friendship, secrets and regrets, exquisitely presented with Pagan's lyrical prose and trademark wit, this novel is a must-read for anyone who has a dream deferred and is finally ready to reclaim it."
thumb
Our Last Days in Barcelona (2022)
(Cuba Saga, book 5)
Chanel Cleeton
"Fans who've come to expect Cleeton's brilliant storytelling, vivid descriptions, historically accurate events, and beloved characters will rejoice in this extraordinary novel of heartbreak and resilience."
thumb
The Last Dress from Paris (2022)
Jade Beer
"I devoured this multigenerational masterpiece! Jade Beer invites her reader on a glamorous treasure hunt through Paris, searching for exquisite Dior dresses and secrets from the past. The Last Dress from Paris is a stunning mix of haute couture, romance, scandal, and intrigue. With breathtaking prose and a stunning Paris backdrop, Jade Beer offers a tender, heartfelt look at love and friendship, and the sacrifices we make for both."
thumb
The Spice Master at Bistro Exotique (2022)
Samantha Vérant
"Vérant is a masterful storyteller."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors