Les Standiford's picture

Les Standiford

USA flag

Les Standiford is a historian and author and has since 1985 been the Director of the Florida International University Creative Writing Program. Standiford has been awarded the Frank O'Connor Award for Short Fiction, a Florida Individual Artist Fellowship in Fiction, and a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in Fiction, and belongs to the Associated Writing Programs, Mystery Writers of America, and the Writers Guild.

Genres: Mystery
John Deal
   1. Done Deal (1993)
   2. Raw Deal (1994)
   3. Deal to Die for (1995)
   4. Book Deal (1997)
     aka Deal On Ice
   5. Presidential Deal (1998)
   6. Deal with the Dead (2001)
   7. Bone Key (2002)
   8. Havana Run (2003)
   Spill (1991)
   Black Mountain (2000)
   The Putt at the End of the World (2000) (with others)
Novellas and Short Stories
   Opening Day (2001)
Series contributed to
Non fiction show
Les Standiford recommends
Killing Pace (2017)
Douglas Schofield
"Douglas Schofield delivers the goods: a high-energy thriller that rockets effortlessly and convincingly from the Everglades to Sicily and points between, featuring richly drawn characters and a compelling, timely plot. Laura Pace is a refreshing protagonist, enigmatic, vulnerable and a kick-ass engine of justice."
Unreliable (2017)
Lee Irby
"Unreliable is, in truth, irresistible – an impressive high-wire act of a thriller combining the comic and the tragic in pitch-perfect style."
Octopus Alibi (2003)
(Alex Rutledge, book 4)
Tom Corcoran
"Octopus Alibi captures dead-on Key West's singular blend of tropical beauty, exotic charm, and inimitable sleaze. The tale is as twisted and delicious as an island cocktail -- if Tom Corcoran has become the Ross Macdonald of Margaritaville, then protagonist crime scene photographer Alex Rutledge is Lew Archer incarnate, in a parrot-head shirt. This one will take you there."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Les Standiford

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors