William R Forstchen's picture

William R Forstchen

USA flag (b.1950)

William R. Forstchen has a Ph.D. from Purdue University with specializations in Military History and the History of Technology. He is a Faculty Fellow and Professor of History at Montreat College. He is the author of fifty books including the New York Times bestselling series One Second After, the Lost Regiment series, and the award-winning young adult novel, We Look Like Men of War. He has also authored numerous short stories and articles about military history and military technology.

Dr. Forstchen's interests include the Civil War, archaeological research on sites in Mongolia, and the potential of space exploration. As a pilot he owns and flies an original World War II "recon bird." Dr. Forstchen resides near Asheville, North Carolina with his dog Maggie.

Genres: Science Fiction, Historical, Fantasy, Horror, Thriller, Inspirational
Series contributed to
Wing Commander
   2. Fleet Action (1994)
   3. Heart of the Tiger (1995) (with Andrew Keith)
   4. The Price of Freedom (1996) (with Ben Ohlander)
   5. Action Stations (1997)
   6. False Colors (1998) (with Andrew Keith)
   End Run (1993) (with Christopher Stasheff)
Shattered Light (with Jaki Demarest)
   3. Catseye (1999)
Non fiction
   It Seemed like a Good Idea... (1988) (with Bill Fawcett)
   Hot Shots (2000) (with Jennie E Chancey)
   Honor Untarnished (2003) (with Donald V Bennett)
Anthologies containing stories by William R Forstchen
Short stories
Would You? (1996)

William R Forstchen recommends
The Spirit of Thunder (2002)
(Fallen Cloud, book 2)
Kurt R A Giambastiani
"A rising star."
Black Autumn (2018)
(Black Autumn Saga, book 1)
Jeff Kirkham and Jason Ross
"From overall plot to technical details this book is on the mark. 'Black Autumn' is a page turner with well developed characters, plot, and plausible story line. I give it the highest of recommendations."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors