Peter F Hamilton's picture

Peter F Hamilton

UK flag (b.1960)

Peter F. Hamilton was born in Rutland in 1960, and now lives near Rutland Water. He began writing in 1987, and sold his first short story to Fear magazine in 1988. He has also been published in Interzone and the In Dreams and New Worlds anthologies, and several small press publications. 

Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult Fantasy, Children's Fiction
Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
   Futures (2001)
Anthologies containing stories by Peter F Hamilton
Short stories
Deathday (1991)
Falling Stones (1992)
Adam's Gene (1993)
Spare Capacity (1993)
Eat Reecebread (1994) (with Graham Joyce)
Escape Route (1997)
The White Stuff (1997) (with Graham Joyce)
A Second Chance at Eden [short story] (1998)
The Suspect Genome (2000)

Arthur C. Clarke Award Best Book nominee (2002) : Fallen Dragon
John W Campbell Memorial Award Best Novel nominee (2002) : Fallen Dragon

Peter F Hamilton recommends
Silver Screen (1999)
Justina Robson
"Perfect blend of excitement and thought-provoking concepts ... far above the ordinary."
Perdido Street Station (2000)
(New Crobuzon, book 1)
China Miéville
"China Mieville's cool style has conjured up a triumphantly macabre technoslip metropolis with a unique atmosphere of horror and fascination. A kind of imaginary world you pray stays imaginary, because we really don't need characters and stories this real finding a way to cross over."
On (2001)
Adam Roberts
"Adam Roberts has got what it takes."
New York Blues (2002)
(Virex, book 2)
Eric Brown
"Eric Brown is the name to watch in SF."
The Hyperion Omnibus (2004)
Dan Simmons
"Sets the standard for SF in the new century."
The Black Lung Captain (2010)
(Tale of the Ketty Jay, book 2)
Chris Wooding
"The kind of old-fashioned adventure I didn't think we were allowed to write anymore..."
The Dark Between the Stars (2014)
(Saga of Shadows, book 1)
Kevin J Anderson
"Kevin J Anderson writes the kind of entertaining and inventive space opera that is exactly what i want to read. The saga of Seven Suns was a triumphant milestone in the genre. I can't wait to get started on the Saga of Shadows."
Quantum Mythology (2015)
(Age of Scorpio, book 2)
Gavin G Smith
"Age Of Scorpio announces loud and clear that in Gavin Smith an exceptional talent has arrived to uplift SF."
From Darkest Skies (2017)
(From Darkest Skies, book 1)
Sam Peters
"A first class SF thriller. Even though Peters wrapped up the case, I still wanted to know more about the universe of Magenta."
The Takeshi Kovacs Collection (2017)
(Takeshi Kovacs)
Richard K Morgan
"His mastery of the SF thriller has brought a well-deserved new kudos to the genre."
Everything About You (2018)
Heather Child
"Everything About You is an excellent creation of that most difficult place, the believable near-future. First class realism and a sinister mystery combine as a compelling thriller."
Children of Ruin (2019)
(Children of Time, book 2)
Adrian Tchaikovsky
"This is really smart science fiction."
The Human (2020)
(Rise of the Jain, book 3)
Neal Asher
"The Soldier provides everything we demand from Asher: a beautifully complex universe where AIs, aliens and post-humans scheme and struggle—magnificently awesome. Then Asher turns it up to eleven."
Artifact Space (2021)
Miles Cameron
"Now I've read Artifact Space I know what it's really going to be like serving aboard an armed interstellar merchant ship, with a smart lead character as my companion. Can't wait for part two."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors