Jan Burke's picture

Jan Burke

USA flag (b.1953)

Jan Burke is an award winning author of novels and short stories. Burke was born in Texas, but has lived in Southern California most of her life. She is a winner of the Edgar Award for Best Novel.

Genres: Mystery
Irene Kelly
   1. Goodnight, Irene (1993)
   2. Sweet Dreams, Irene (1994)
   3. Dear Irene, (1995)
   4. Remember Me, Irene (1996)
   5. Hocus (1997)
   6. Liar (1998)
   7. Bones (1999)
   8. Flight (2001)
   9. Bloodlines (2005)
   10. Kidnapped (2006)
   11. Disturbance (2011)
   Nine (2002)
   The Sunken Sailor (2004) (with others)
   The Messenger (2008)
   Eighteen (2002)
   Caught Red-Handed (2014)
   Apprehended (2014)
   Tried (2014)
   Convicted (2014)
   Justice Done (2014)
   Case Closed (2014)
Jan Burke recommends
Exit (2016)
(Finn Teller Corporate Spy, book 2)
Twist Phelan
"Action-packed, with a new and capable hero!."
The Devotion of Suspect X (2011)
(Detective Galileo, book 1)
Keigo Higashino
"The Devotion of Suspect X has all the brilliant intricacy of the best Golden Age mysteries - puzzle within puzzle, twist after twist - with a modern sensibility. It is a wonderful, fresh take on the classic mystery's intellectual struggle between protagonist and antagonist, adds to it all the right amounts of tension and pacing, places it in a fascinating setting, and gives of all of this plenty of heart."
Carousel Tides (2010)
(Archers Beach, book 1)
Sharon Lee
"Sharon Lee is one of my all-time favorite authors, a gifted storyteller whose work never fails to enchant.  With Carousel Tides she gives her fans another opportunity to spend time with fascinating characters, bringing them to life in a place that becomes so real you can smell the salt air around you.  Her fine hand with detail never lets the suspense falter, as mystery, folklore, and magic are artfully interwoven into a thoroughly engaging tale.  Carousel Tides will leave you eagerly awaiting the next novel by this master."

More recommendations 

Anthologies containing stories by Jan Burke
From Sea to Stormy Sea (2019)
17 Stories Inspired by Great American Paintings
edited by
Lawrence Block
Anatomy of Innocence (2017)
Testimonies of the Wrongfully Convicted
edited by
Laura Caldwell and Leslie S Klinger

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors