Michael Cunningham's picture

Michael Cunningham


USA flag (b.1952)

Michael Cunningham was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, and grew up in California. He received his B.A. in English literature from Stanford University and his M.F.A. in creative writing from the University of Iowa. His novel A Home at the End of the World was published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux in 1990 to wide acclaim. A film version was directed by Michael Mayer, and featured Colin Farrell, Robin Wright Penn, Dallas Roberts and Sissy Spacek.

 
Non fiction
thumbthumb
 
Awards
PEN/Faulkner Award for fiction Best Book winner (1999) : The Hours
Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Best Book winner (1999) : The Hours
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Novel nominee (2000) : The Hours


Michael Cunningham recommends
thumb
Hester Among the Ruins (2002)
Binnie Kirshenbaum
"A rare and remarkable writer."
thumb
The Confessions of Max Tivoli (2004)
Andrew Sean Greer
"Every once in a great while, a truly original voice springs up, seemingly out of nowhere, and tells us a story unlike anything we've ever heard before. Andrew Sean Greer is a devastating new writer, and The Confessions of Max Tivoli marks the beginning of what I suspect will be a significant and lasting career."
thumb
Suspension (2006)
Robert Westfield
"A beauty of a book."
thumb
Matrimony (2007)
Joshua Henkin
"In the tradition of John Cheever and Richard Yates ... a novel about love, hope, delusion, and the intricate ways in which time's passage raises us up even as it grinds us down. It's a beautiful book. Here's to its brilliant future."
thumb
Room (2010)
Emma Donoghue
"Potent, darkly beautiful, and revelatory."
thumb
Through the Valley of the Nest of Spiders (2011)
Samuel R Delany
"Samuel R. Delany is not only one of the most profound and courageous writers at work today, he is a writer of seemingly limitless range."
thumb
Before Everything (2017)
Victoria Redel
"Gorgeous, a heartbreaker, a non-stop dazzler, a major achievement."
thumb
Who Is Rich? (2017)
Matthew Klam
"I seriously, deeply love this book."
thumb
The Distance Home (2018)
Paula Saunders
"In Paula Saunders’ The Distance Home, a family’s story traces the intricate, often subterranean lines that connect damage to redemption, creation to dissolution, and the everyday to the eternal, just to name several of its moving and startling aspects. It’s a true, and rare, accomplishment."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors