Michael Cunningham's picture
8 followers

Michael Cunningham


USA flag (b.1952)

Michael Cunningham was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, and grew up in California. He received his B.A. in English literature from Stanford University and his M.F.A. in creative writing from the University of Iowa. His novel A Home at the End of the World was published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux in 1990 to wide acclaim. A film version was directed by Michael Mayer, and featured Colin Farrell, Robin Wright Penn, Dallas Roberts and Sissy Spacek.
 

Genres: Literary Fiction
 

Novels
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumb
 
Omnibus
thumb
 
Collections
thumb
 
Non fiction
   Land's End (2002)
   Jewels (2007) (with Connie Briscoe)
   A Tower in Tuscany (2021) (with Beatrice Monti Della Corte and Francois Halard)
thumbthumbthumb
 
Awards
PEN/Faulkner Award for fiction Best Book winner (1999) : The Hours
Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Best Book winner (1999) : The Hours
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Novel nominee (2000) : The Hours


Michael Cunningham recommends
thumb
Hester Among the Ruins (2002)
Binnie Kirshenbaum
"A rare and remarkable writer."
thumb
The Confessions of Max Tivoli (2004)
Andrew Sean Greer
"Every once in a great while, a truly original voice springs up, seemingly out of nowhere, and tells us a story unlike anything we've ever heard before. Andrew Sean Greer is a devastating new writer, and The Confessions of Max Tivoli marks the beginning of what I suspect will be a significant and lasting career."
thumb
Matrimony (2007)
Joshua Henkin
"In the tradition of John Cheever and Richard Yates ... a novel about love, hope, delusion, and the intricate ways in which time's passage raises us up even as it grinds us down. It's a beautiful book. Here's to its brilliant future."
thumb
Room (2010)
Emma Donoghue
"Potent, darkly beautiful, and revelatory."
thumb
Through the Valley of the Nest of Spiders (2011)
Samuel R Delany
"Samuel R. Delany is not only one of the most profound and courageous writers at work today, he is a writer of seemingly limitless range."
thumb
Dept. of Speculation (2014)
Jenny Offill
"Dept. of Speculation resembles no book I've read before. If I tell you that it's funny, and moving, and true; that it's as compact and mysterious as a neutron; that it tells a profound story of love and parenthood while invoking (among others) Keats, Kafka, Einstein, Russian cosmonauts, and advice for the housewife of 1897, will you please simply believe me, and read it?"
thumb
The Forgers (2014)
(Forgers, book 1)
Bradford Morrow
"The Forgers is remarkable. Bradford Morrow is remarkable. The Real Thing, which is rare on this earthly plane."
thumb
Before Everything (2017)
Victoria Redel
"Gorgeous, a heartbreaker, a non-stop dazzler, a major achievement."
thumb
Who Is Rich? (2017)
Matthew Klam
"I seriously, deeply love this book."
thumb
The Distance Home (2018)
Paula Saunders
"In Paula Saunders’ The Distance Home, a family’s story traces the intricate, often subterranean lines that connect damage to redemption, creation to dissolution, and the everyday to the eternal, just to name several of its moving and startling aspects. It’s a true, and rare, accomplishment."
thumb
Apeirogon (2020)
Colum McCann
"Nothing like any book you've ever read ... Think of discovering an entirely unprecedented, and profoundly true, narrative form. Think about feeling that the very idea of the novel, of what it can be and what it's capable of containing, has been expanded, forever ... All I can really tell you is, read McCann's book. It's an important book."
thumb
What Happens at Night (2020)
Peter Cameron
"Peter Cameron’s What Happens at Night is a surreal, funny, heartbreaking story about love and mortality. Cameron’s sense of balance between the comic and the catastrophic, between cynicism and sincerity, is astonishing. This book reminds me of nothing else I’ve ever read, which is high praise indeed."
thumb
The Delivery (2021)
Peter Mendelsund
"Peter Mendelsund's The Delivery is not only truly original, and gorgeously written, it shines a light on a person, a population, generally invisible to all but themselves, which is among a novel's more profound purposes. It's a remarkable book."
thumb
The Hummingbird (2021)
Sandro Veronesi
"A remarkable accomplishment, a true gift to the world."
thumb
Alec (2021)
William di Canzio
"Just when it began to seem that I couldn’t read E. M. Forster’s Maurice one more time, as much as I love it, here’s Alec, William di Canzio’s brilliant reimagining of Forster’s classic. Alec extends Maurice, delivers it to us intact but refreshed and reconsidered. I, for one, am extremely grateful."
thumb
Today a Woman Went Mad in the Supermarket (2021)
Hilma Wolitzer
"Hilma Wolitzer sees the miraculous, and the tragic, in modest lives and domestic particulars - wonders that might pass as ordinary events to the untrained eye. She magnifies the world. She insists, in one gorgeous sentence after another, that there's no such thing as a usual hour, let alone a usual day."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors