New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
Michael Cunningham's picture

Michael Cunningham


USA flag (1952 - )

Michael Cunningham was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, and grew up in California. He received his B.A. in English literature from Stanford University and his M.F.A. in creative writing from the University of Iowa. His novel A Home at the End of the World was published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux in 1990 to wide acclaim. A film version was directed by Michael Mayer, and featured Colin Farrell, Robin Wright Penn, Dallas Roberts and Sissy Spacek.

Flesh and Blood (FSG), another novel, followed in 1995 and is currently being adapted into a miniseries for Showtime.

In 1999 he received the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the PEN/Faulkner Award for his novel The Hours (FSG). A film adaptation of The Hours was directed by Stephen Daldry, and featured Julianne Moore, Nicole Kidman, and Meryl Streep.
 
Non fiction
thumbthumb
 
Awards
PEN/Faulkner Award for fiction Best Book winner (1999) : The Hours
Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Best Book winner (1999) : The Hours
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Novel nominee (2000) : The Hours


Michael Cunningham recommends
thumb
Hester Among the Ruins (2002)
Binnie Kirshenbaum
"A rare and remarkable writer."
thumb
Suspension (2006)
Robert Westfield
"A beauty of a book."
thumb
Matrimony (2007)
Joshua Henkin
"In the tradition of John Cheever and Richard Yates ... a novel about love, hope, delusion, and the intricate ways in which time's passage raises us up even as it grinds us down. It's a beautiful book. Here's to its brilliant future."
thumb
Room (2010)
Emma Donoghue
"Potent, darkly beautiful, and revelatory."
thumb
Through the Valley of the Nest of Spiders (2011)
Samuel R Delany
"Samuel R. Delany is not only one of the most profound and courageous writers at work today, he is a writer of seemingly limitless range."
thumb
Before Everything (2017)
Victoria Redel
"Gorgeous, a heartbreaker, a non-stop dazzler, a major achievement."
thumb
Who Is Rich? (2017)
Matthew Klam
"I seriously, deeply love this book."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors