New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
E F Benson's picture

E F Benson

(Edward Frederic Benson)
UK flag (1867 - 1940)
Brother of A C Benson and R H Benson

Edward Frederic Benson was the son of the Archbishop of Canterbury and member of a distinguished and eccentric family. After attending Marlborough and King's College, Cambridge where he studied classics and archaeology, he worked at the British School of Archaeology in Athens. One of our greatest humorists, he achieved great success at an early age with his first novel, Dodo (1893). He was a prolific author writing over a hundred books: serious novels, ghost stories, plays and biographies. But he is best remembered for his Lucia comedies written between 1920 and 1939 and other comic novels such as Paying Guests and Mrs Ames. He became mayor of Rye, the Sussex town that provided the model for his fictional Tilling, from 1934 to 1937.
Make Way For Lucia
1. Queen Lucia (1920)
2. Miss Mapp (1922)
3. Lucia in London (1927)
4. Mapp and Lucia (1931)
5. Trouble for Lucia (1939)
6. Lucia's Progress (1935)
     aka The Worshipful Lucia
Make Way For Lucia (omnibus) (1977)

1. Colin (1923)

Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by E F Benson
A Century of Humour (1925)
Great Short Stories of Detection, Mystery and Horror 1st Series (1928)
Shudders (1929)
Great Short Stories of Detection, Mystery and Horror 2nd Series (1931)
A Century of Creepy Stories (1934)
A Century of Thrillers 2nd Series (1935)
The Great Book of Thrillers (1935)
A Century of Ghost Stories (1936)
The Mammoth Book of Thrillers, Ghosts and Mysteries (1936)
And the Darkness Falls (1946)
Who Knocks? (1946)
The Arrow Book of Horror Stories (1961)
Spine Chillers (1961)
The Frankenstein Reader (1962)
Small Shadows Creep (1963)
The Vampire (1963)
The 5th Pan Book of Horror Stories (1964)
The 3rd Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1966)
Medley Macabre (1966)
Famous Monster Tales (1967)
The 3rd Fontana Book of Great Horror Stories (1968)
Hauntings (1968)
The Midnight People (1968)
Mind at Bay (1969)
The Satanists (1969)
The 5th Fontana Book of Great Horror Stories (1970)
The Undead (1971)
The Necromancers (1971)
Christopher Lee's New Chamber of Horrors (1974)
The Star Book of Horror 1 (1975)
Open at Your Own Risk (1975)
Chamber of Horrors (1978)
Forgotten Tales of Terror (1978)
Sixty-Five Great Tales of the Supernatural (1979)
The Penguin Book of Ghost Stories (1984)
The Penguin Book of Horror Stories (1984)
The 20th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1984)
Realms of Darkness (1985)
Horror Stories (1988)
100 Ghastly Little Ghost Stories (1992)
The Mammoth Book of Vampires (1992)
Masterpieces of Terror and the Unknown (1992)
To Sleep, Perchance to Dream...Nightmare (1993)
100 Tiny Tales of Terror (1996)
Blood Thirst (1997)
100 Twisted Little Tales of Torment (1998)
100 Hilarious Little Howlers (1999)
The Mammoth Book of Haunted House Stories (2000)

Short stories
The Chippendale Mirror
A College Sunday
Royal Visitors
The Bus-Conductor (1906)
At Abdul Ali's Grave (1912)
Between the Lights (1912)
The Cat (1912)
Caterpillars (1912)
The Confession of Charles Linkworth (1912)
The Dust-Cloud (1912)
Gavon's Eve (1912)
The House with the Brick-Kiln (1912)
How Fear Departed from the Long Gallery (1912)
The Man Who Went Too Far (1912)
The Other Bed (1912)
Outside the Door (1912)
The Room in the Tower [short story] (1912)
The Shootings of Achnaleish (1912)
The Terror by Night (1912)
The Thing in the Hall (1912)
The Drawing-room Bureau (1915)
The Hapless Bachelors (1921)
And the Dead Spake (1922)
Negotium Perambulans (1922)
At the Farmhouse (1923)
The Gardener (1923)
In the Tube (1923)
Mrs Amworth (1923)
'And No Bird Sings' (1928)
Bagnell Terrace (1928)
The Corner House (1928)
Corstophine (1928)
Expiation [short story] (1928)
The Face [short story] (1928)
Home, Sweet Home (1928)
Naboth's Vineyard (1928)
Reconciliation (1928)
Spinach (1928)
A Tale of an Empty House [short story] (1928)
The Temple [short story] (1928)
The Hanging of Alfred Wadham (1929)
The Bath-Chair (1934)
The Bed by the Window (1934)
Christopher Came Back (1934)
The Dance (1934)
James Lamp (1934)
Monkeys (1934)
Pirates (1934)
The Psychical Mallards (1934)
The Sanctuary (1934)
The Step [short story] (1934)
Thursday Evenings (1934)
The Wishing-Well (1934)

Search for