Alan E Nourse's picture

Alan E Nourse

(Alan Edward Nourse)
USA flag (1928 - 1992)

aka Doctor X

Alan Edward Nourse was an American science fiction (SF) author and physician. Alan E Nourse also wrote under the name wrote both juvenile and adult science fiction, as well as nonfiction works about medicine and science.Alan Nourse was born to Benjamin and Grace (Ogg) Nourse. He attended high school in Long Island, New York. He served in the U.S. Navy after World War II. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in 1951 from Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey. He married Ann Morton on June 11, 1952 in Lynden, New Jersey. He received a Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) degree in 1955 from the University of Pennsylvania. He served his one year internship at Virginia Mason Hospital in Seattle, Washington.

Genres: Science Fiction
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Alan E Nourse
Short stories
The Coffin Cure
The Martyr
Mirror, Mirror
Psi High
Brightside Crossing (1951)
Tiger by the Tail [short story] (1951)
Counterfeit (1952)
In Sheep's Clothing (1952)
Heir Apparent (1953)
Free Agent (1954)
Symptomaticus Medicus (1954)
Grand Rounds (1955)
Bramble Bush (1957)
Rx (1957)
Contamination Crew (1958)
A Gift for Numbers (1958)
Hard Bargain (1958)
Family Resemblance (1963)
The Compleat Consumators (1964)
The Last House Call (1972)
Plague! (1972)

Alan E Nourse recommends
Slob (1987)
(Chaingang, book 1)
Rex Miller
"Has got to be a tour de force: splatterpunk at its grisliest. Tasty as a blood sundae. The only question is, what does Killer Miller do for an encore?"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors