John Brunner's picture

John Brunner

(John Kilian Houston Brunner)
UK flag (1934 - 1995)

aka K H Brunner, Henry Crosstrees Jr, Gill Hunt, John Loxmith, Trevor Staines, Keith Woodcott

The late John Brunner was perhaps as well known for much of his career in the US as in the UK. A leftwing activist, with particular connections to the peace movement, much of his best and most mature fiction is involved in a complex analysis of social trends and where they will take us--novels like Stand on Zanzibar which deals with overpopulation, among other things, and The Sheep Look Up, which is one of sf's most telling presentations of environmental degradation, are also technically innovative with their multiple viewpoint storylines, interspersed newspaper headlines and fragments of author characters' expository prose. The Shockwave Rider is more conventional in technique but was one of the first sf novels fully to understand the information technology revolution. Much of his early work for American publishers consisted of short, punchy space operas like The Altar on Asconel; these go down so smoothly, and show such mastery of genre tropes, that it is only in retrospect that the reader notices how suffused they are with a strong ethical content - these things do not have to be simplistic power fantasies for adolescents. A historical novel to which he gave much of his heart, The Great Steamboat Race, is delightful, and very hard to find.

Genres: Science Fiction, Thriller
   1. Polymath (1963)
     aka Castaway's World
   2. The Space-Time Juggler (1963)
   3. The Altar on Asconel (1965)
Max Curfew
   1. A Plague on Both Your Causes (1969)
     aka Blacklash
   2. Good Men Do Nothing (1970)
   3. Honky in the Woodpile (1971)
   The Brink (1959)
   Catch a Falling Star (1959)
     aka The Hundredth Millennium
   Give Warning to the World (1959)
     aka Echo in the Skull
   The World Swappers (1959)
   The Atlantic Abomination (1960)
   Into the Slave Nebula (1960)
     aka Slavers of Space
   Sanctuary in the Sky (1960)
   The Skynappers (1960)
   I Speak for Earth (1961) (as by Keith Woodcott)
   Meeting at Infinity (1961)
   The Avengers of Carrig (1962)
     aka Secret Agent of Terra
   The Ladder in the Sky (1962) (as by Keith Woodcott)
   The Stardroppers (1962)
     aka Listen! The Stars!
   The Super Barbarians (1962)
   The Dreaming Earth (1963)
   More Things in Heaven (1963)
     aka The Astronauts Must Not Land
   The Psionic Menace (1963) (as by Keith Woodcott)
   The Rites of Ohe (1963)
   The Crutch of Memory (1964)
   Manshape (1964)
     aka Endless Shadow
   Telepathist (1964)
     aka The Whole Man
   To Conquer Chaos (1964)
   Age of Miracles (1965)
     aka The Day of the Star Cities
   Enigma from Tantalus (1965)
   The Long Result (1965)
   The Martian Sphinx (1965) (as by Keith Woodcott)
   The Repairmen of Cyclops (1965)
   The Squares of the City (1965)
   Wear the Butchers' Medal (1965)
   A Planet of Your Own (1966)
   Born Under Mars (1967)
   The Productions of Time (1967)
   Quicksand (1967)
   Bedlam Planet (1968)
   Stand on Zanzibar (1968)
   Black Is the Colour (1969)
   Double, Double (1969)
   The Incestuous Lovers (1969) (as by Henry Crosstrees Jr)
   The Jagged Orbit (1969)
   Timescoop (1969)
   The Devil's Work (1970)
   The Gaudy Shadows (1970)
   The Wrong End of Time (1971)
   The Dramaturges of Yan (1972)
   The Sheep Look Up (1972)
   The Stone That Never Came Down (1973)
   Total Eclipse (1974)
   Web of Everywhere (1974)
     aka Webs of Everywhere
   The Shockwave Rider (1975)
   The Infinitive of Go (1980)
   Players at the Game of People (1980)
   While There's Hope (1982)
   The Great Steamboat Race (1983)
   The Crucible of Time (1983)
   The Tides of Time (1984)
   The Shift Key (1987)
   The Days of March (1988)
   Children of the Thunder (1988)
   A Maze of Stars (1991)
   Muddle Earth (1993)
   Threshold of Eternity - The Novel (2017) (with Damien Broderick)
   Kingdom of the Worlds (2021) (with Damien Broderick)
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
   No Future in It (1962)
   Now Then! (1965)
   No Other Gods But Me (1966)
   Out of My Mind (1967)
   Father of Lies / Mirror Image (1968) (with Bruce Duncan)
   Not Before Time (1968)
   The Compleat Traveller in Black (1971)
     aka The Traveler in Black
   Entry to Elsewhen (1972)
   From This Day Forward (1973)
   Time-Jump (1973)
   The Book of John Brunner (1976)
   Tomorrow May Be Even Worse (poems) (1978)
   Foreign Constellations (1980)
   A New Settlement of Old Scores (1983)
   The Best of John Brunner (1988)
   Beyond the Gate of Worlds (1991) (with Robert Silverberg and Chelsea Quinn Yarbro)
   Children of the Thunder / The Tides of Time / The Crucible of Time (1995)
   The Man Who Was Secrett (2013)
Novellas and Short Stories
John Brunner recommends
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? (1968)
(Bladerunner, book 1)
Philip K Dick
"The most consistently brilliant science fiction writer in the world."

Anthologies containing stories by John Brunner
Sense of Wonder (2023)
A Century of Science Fiction
edited by
Leigh Ronald Grossman
Future Crimes (2021)
(British Library Science Fiction Classics)
edited by
Mike Ashley
Spaceworlds (2021)
Stories of Life in the Void
(British Library Science Fiction Classics)
edited by
Mike Ashley

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors