New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Murray Leinster's picture

Murray Leinster

(William Fitzgerald Jenkins)
USA flag (1896 - 1975)

aka Will F Jenkins

"Murray Leinster" was the pen name of William Fitzgerald Jenkins — an author whose career spanned the first six decades of the 20th Century. From mystery and adventure stories in the earliest years to science fiction in his later years, he worked steadily and at a highly professional level of craftsmanship longer than most writers of his generation. He won a Hugo Award in 1956 for his novelet “Exploration Team,” and in 1995 the Sidewise Award for Alternate History took its name from his classic story, “Sidewise in Time.” His last original work appeared in 1967.

The Ultimate Invader (1954) (with Malcolm Jameson, Frank Belknap Long and Eric Frank Russell)
Out of this World (1958)
Monsters and Such (1959)
Twists in Time (1960)
The Moon Era (1967) (with Jack Williamson and John Wyndham)
Best of Murray Leinster (1976)
First Contacts (1995)
Planets of Adventure (2003)
The Runaway Skyscraper and Other Tales from the Pulps (2007)
The God Machine and 4 Other Sci-Fi Masterpieces From the Golden Age (2012) (with Terry Carr, Andre Norton and H Beam Piper)
The 11th Science Fiction MEGAPACK (2016) (with Poul Anderson, Manly Banister, John Gregory Betancourt, Jerome Bixby, J F Bone, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Hal Clement, Mark Clifton, Lester del Rey, Simon Eisner, E Everett Evans, H B Fyfe, Christopher Grimm, James E Gunn, Raymond F Jones, C M Kornbluth, Fritz Leiber, Katherine MacLean, William Morrison, Frederik Pohl, Frank M Robinson, Ross Rocklynne, Tony Rothman, Robert Silverberg, Clifford D Simak, Evelyn E Smith, Stephen Tall, William Tenn, Sydney J Van Scyoc, F. L. Wallace, Robert Moore Williams, Donald A Wollheim and Robert F Young)
The Golden Age of Science Fiction - Volume XI (2016) (with Philip K Dick, Christopher Grimm, Harry Harrison, H Beam Piper, Robert Silverberg and Gerald Vance (William P McGivern))
Science Fiction Super Pack #2 (2016) (with Poul Anderson, Jerome Bixby, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Ken Brady, Algis Budrys, Brenda W Clough, Alfred Coppel, Philip K Dick, Charles Dye, H B Fyfe, Randall Garrett, Harry Harrison, Henry Josephs, Katherine MacLean, Judith Merril, C L Moore, Andre Norton, Jay O'Connell, H Beam Piper, Frederic Pohl, Larry Shaw, Robert Sheckley, Peter Sherman, Evelyn E Smith, Allen Steele, Bryce Walton and Jamie Wild)
The 12th Science Fiction MEGAPACK (2016) (with Poul Anderson, Alan Arkin, Manly Banister, John Gregory Betancourt, Jerome Bixby, Ray Bradbury, Rosel George Brown, Lucius Daniel, Lester del Rey, Philip K Dick, H.B. Hickey, R A Lafferty, Keith Laumer, Fritz Leiber, Richard Matheson, Walter M Miller, Chad Oliver, Talmage Powell, Mack Reynolds, Frank M Robinson, Tony Rothman, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Dean Wesley Smith, George O Smith and Jim Wannamaker)

Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Anthologies containing stories by Murray Leinster
Short stories
The Devil of East Lupton
The Plants
The Mole Pirate (1934)
Sidewise in Time [short story] (1934)
The Fourth Dimensional Demonstrator (1935)
Proxima Centauri (1935)
Uneasy Home-coming (1935) (as by Will F Jenkins)
The Wabbler (1942)
De Profundis (1945)
The Ethical Equations (1945)
First Contact (1945)
Pipeline to Pluto (1945)
The Power (1945)
A Logic Named Joe (1946) (as by Will F Jenkins)
Symbiosis (1947)
The Strange Case of John Kingman (1948)
Cure for a Ylith (1949)
Doomsday Deferred (1949) (as by Will F Jenkins)
The Life-Work of Professor Muntz (1949)
The Lonely Planet (1949)
Nobody Saw the Ship (1950)
If You Was a Moklin (1951)
Keyhole (1951)
The Other Now (1951)
The Castaway (1953)
The Little Terror (1953) (as by Will F Jenkins)
Sam, This Is You (1955)
Scrimshaw (1955)
Exploration Team (1956)Hugo
The Leader (1960)
Plague on Kryder II (1964)
The Great Catastrophe (1998)
To All Fat Policemen (1998)

Hugo Best Novellette winner (1956) : Exploration Team
Hugo Best Novel nominee (1960) : The Pirates of Zan

Search for