Katherine MacLean's picture
6 books added

Katherine MacLean

(Katherine Anne MacLean)
USA flag (1925 - 2019)
Wife of David Mason

Katherine MacLean was an American science fiction author best known for her short stories of the 1950s which examined the impact of technological advances on individuals and society.

Brian Aldiss noted that she could "do the hard stuff magnificently," while Theodore Sturgeon observed that she "generally starts from a base of hard science, or rationalizes psi phenomena with beautifully finished logic." Although her stories have been included in numerous anthologies and a few have had radio and television adaptations, The Diploids and Other Flights of Fancy (1962) is her only collection of short fiction.
   Unclean Sacrifice (1958)
   Cosmic Checkmate (1962) (with Charles V Devet)
   Trouble With Treaties (1970)
   Missing Man (1975)
   Second Game (1981) (with Charles V Devet)
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
Novellas and Short Stories
   Contagion (1950)
   Pictures Don't Lie (1951)
   The Snowball Effect (1952)
Omnibus editions show
Books containing stories by Katherine MacLean
Black Infinity: First Contact (2022)
edited by
Tom English
The Future Is Female! (2018)
(Future Is Female!, book 1)
edited by
Lisa Yaszek

More books 

1971 Nebula Award for Best Novella : The Missing Man [short story]

Award nominations
1976 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : Missing Man
1975 Nebula Award for Best Novel (nominee) : Missing Man
1959 Hugo Award for Best Novelette (nominee) : Second Game [short story]

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors