71 books added

Keith Roberts

(Keith John Kingston Roberts)
UK flag (1935 - 2000)

aka Alistair Bevan

Keith John Kingston Roberts was a British science fiction author.

Several of his early stories were written using the pseudonym Alistair Bevan. His second novel, Pavane, which is really a collection of linked stories, may be his most famous work: an alternate history novel in which the Roman Catholic Church takes control of England following the assassination of Queen Elizabeth I.

Roberts wrote numerous novels and short stories, and also worked as an illustrator. His artistic contributions include covers and interior artwork for New Worlds and Science Fantasy, later renamed Impulse. He also edited the last few issues of Impulse although the nominal editor was Harry Harrison.

In later life, Roberts lived in Salisbury. He was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis in 1990, and died of its complications in October 2000. Obituaries recalled him as a talented but personally 'difficult' author, with a history of disputes with publishers, editors and colleagues.
   The Furies (1966)
   Pavane (1968)
   Anita (1970)
   The Inner Wheel (1970)
   The Boat of Fate (1971)
   Molly Zero (1980)
   Kiteworld (1985)
   Kaeti and Company (1986)
   Kaeti's Apocalypse (1986)
   Grainne (1987)
   The Road to Paradise (1988)
   The Event (1989)
   Kaeti on Tour (1992)
   Machines and Men (1973)
   The Chalk Giants (1974)
   The Grain Kings (1976)
   The Passing of the Dragons (1977)
   Ladies from Hell (1979)
   The Lordly Ones (1986)
   A Heron Caught in Weeds (1987)
   Winterwood (1989)
Non fiction show
Omnibus editions show
Keith Roberts recommends
Mythago Wood (1984)
(Mythago Wood, book 1)
Robert Holdstock
"One of the strangest, most beautiful and most compelling fantasies I have ever read. A marvel of a book"

Books containing stories by Keith Roberts
Sense of Wonder (2023)
A Century of Science Fiction
edited by
Leigh Ronald Grossman
Perchance to Wake (2016)
Yet More Selected Stories from Science Fantasy
(Science Fantasy Collection, book 3)
edited by
John Boston and Damien Broderick
The Mammoth Book of Alternate Histories (2010)
(The Mammoth Book of ...)
edited by
Ian Watson and Ian Whates

More books 

Award nominations
1988 Arthur C. Clarke Award (nominee) : Grainne
1987 Nebula Award for Best Novella (nominee) : The Tiger Sweater
1987 Locus Award for Best Collection (nominee) : Kaeti and Company
1986 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : Kiteworld
1986 John W. Campbell Memorial Award (nominee) : Kiteworld
1981 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : Molly Zero
1981 Hugo Award for Best Novelette (nominee) : The Lordly Ones [short story]
1980 Locus Award for Best Collection (nominee) : Ladies from Hell
1971 Nebula Award for Best Novella (nominee) : The God House

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors