Julie E Czerneda's picture
photo by Roger Czerneda
71 followers

Julie E Czerneda


(Julie Elizabeth Czerneda)
Canada (b.1955)

Julie Czerneda is a Canadian science fiction writer whose first novel, A Thousand Words for Stranger, was published in 1997 by DAW Books, starting her Trade Pact Trilogy. Her second novel, Aurora Award Finalist Beholder's Eye, was published by DAW in 1998, becoming the first in her Web Shifters series. Formerly a researcher in animal communication, Julie has also written non-fiction, from biology texts to the use of science fiction to develop literacy. She currently lives at the edge of a forest with her family, enjoying rocketry and canoeing.
 

Genres: Science Fiction, Fantasy, Young Adult Fantasy
 
New and upcoming books
Series
thumbthumbthumbthumb
 
Web Shifters
   1. Beholder's Eye (1998)
   2. Changing Vision (2000)
   3. Hidden in Sight (2003)
   The Only Thing to Fear (2018)
thumbthumbthumbthumb
 
Species Imperative
   1. Survival (2004)
   2. Migration (2005)
   3. Regeneration (2006)
thumbthumbthumb
 
Stratification
   1. Reap the Wild Wind (2007)
   2. Riders of the Storm (2008)
   3. Rift in the Sky (2009)
thumbthumbthumb
 
Night's Edge
   1. A Turn of Light (2013)
   2. A Play of Shadow (2014)
   A Dragon for William (2019)
   3. A Change of Place (2024)
thumbthumbthumbthumb
 
thumbthumbthumb
 
Web Shifter's Library
   1. Search Image (2018)
   2. Mirage (2020)
   3. Spectrum (2021)
thumbthumbthumb
 
Novels
thumbthumbthumb
 
Collections
   Giftmas 2018 Advent Anthology (2018) (with others)
   Imaginings (2022)
thumbthumb
 
Novellas and Short Stories
   No Place Like Home (2016)
thumb
 
Anthologies edited
   Packing Fraction (1998)
   Explorer (2001)
   Orbiter (2002)
   Stardust (2002)
   Space Inc. (2003)
   ReVisions (2004) (with Isaac Szpindel)
   Summoned To Destiny (2004)
   Fantastic Companions (2005)
   Mythspring (2006) (with Genevieve Kierans)
   Polaris (2007)
   Under Cover of Darkness (2007) (with Jana Paniccia)
   Misspelled (2008)
   Ages of Wonder (2009) (with Robert St Martin)
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumb
 
Anthology series
thumb
 
Non fiction
Sorry, we're not listing non fiction by this author
 
Series contributed to
Tesseracts
   15. Tesseracts 15 (2011) (with Susan MacGregor)
thumb
 
thumb
 
Julie E Czerneda recommends
thumb
Cascade Failure (2024)
(Ambit's Run, book 1)
L M Sagas
"Fans of Firefly and Lois McMaster Bujold's brilliant Vorkosigan series, Cascade Failure by L.M. Sagas has you covered. A ragtag crew full of grit, genius, and quirks with weary hearts of gold, finding the mission of their lives in a ship like no other. I loved everything about this book, including stunningly original world-building that ranks among the best I've ever read. Get this one. You'll thank me."
thumb
Dragonfall (2023)
(Dragon Scales, book 1)
L R Lam
"Lam's Dragonfall is a powerful all-new imagining of dragons and humans and the wild magic burning between them, set in a divided world as brilliantly original as it is convincing. With striking, beautiful prose and characters that will own your heart, this book - and those to follow in the trilogy - are must-reads."
thumb
The Stars of Mount Quixx (2023)
(Brindlewatch Quintet, book 1)
S M Beiko
"Beiko's latest novel, The Stars of Mount Quixx, will forever lodge in my heart, alongside the other classics of storytelling magic I've read over the years and will never forget. It has everything I want in a fantasy, from wondrous surprise and reckless awe, to real people you love (and sometimes want to give a stern talking to) who rise to be their best selves. I can't wait to read it again. And I will."

More recommendations 


Anthologies containing stories by Julie E Czerneda
thumb
Life Beyond Us (2023)
An Original Anthology of SF Stories and Science Essays
edited by
Susan Forest, Lucas K Law and Julie Novakova
thumb
Noir (2022)
edited by
David B Coe and John Zakour

More anthologies 


Visitors also looked at these authors


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors