John Sladek's picture
25 books added

John Sladek

(John Thomas Sladek)
USA flag (1937 - 2000)

aka Thom Demijohn, Cassandra Knye

John Sladek was born in America in 1937 but moved to the UK in 1966, where he became involved with the British New Wave movement. He began writing sf with 'The Happy Breed' which appeared in Dangerous Visions in 1967. He is now recognized as one of the most brilliant satirists of out time. His novels and short story collections include The Muller Fokker Effect, Tik Tok, Roderick and The Lunatics of Terra. He moved back to Minneapolis in the mid 1980s, where he died in March 2000.

Genres: Science Fiction
   1. Roderick (1980)
   2. Roderick at Random (1983)
   The House That Fear Built (1966) (as by Cassandra Knye)
   Black Alice (1968) (as by Thom Demijohn)
   The Reproductive System (1968)
     aka Mechasm
   The Muller-Fokker Effect (1970)
   Black Aura (1974)
   Invisible Green (1977)
   Tik-Tok (1983)
   Bugs (1989)
   The Steam-Driven Boy (1970)
   Keep the Giraffe Burning (1978)
   The Best of John Sladek (1980)
   Alien Accounts (1982)
   The Lunatics of Terra (1984)
   The Book of Clues (1984)
   The Complete Roderick (2001)
   Maps (2002)
Non fiction show
Omnibus editions show
John Sladek recommends
Man Plus (1976)
Frederik Pohl
"One of the most exciting, brilliantly conceived, and capably written SF novels."

Books containing stories by John Sladek
Drabble II - Double Century (1990)
edited by
Rob Meades and David B Wake

More books 

Award nominations
2003 Locus Award for Best Collection (nominee) : Maps: The Uncollected John Sladek
1985 Locus Award for Best Collection (nominee) : The Lunatics of Terra
1984 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : Tik-Tok
1984 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : Roderick at Random
1984 John W. Campbell Memorial Award (nominee) : Tik-Tok
1983 Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel (nominee) : Roderick
1982 Philip K Dick Award (nominee) : Roderick
1982 Locus Award for Best Collection (nominee) : The Best of John Sladek

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors