New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Brian M Stableford's picture

Brian Stableford

(Brian Michael Stableford)
UK (1948 - )

aka Brian Craig

Brian Stableford has written 75 books, including 50 novels. In 1999 he was the recipient of the Science Fiction Research Association's Pilgrim Award for his contributions to sf scholarship, completing his set of the four major awards available in that field - the others being the SFRA's Pioneer Award (1996), the Distinguished Scholarship Award of the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts (1987) and the J. Lloyd Eaton Award (1987). His recent non-fiction includes Yesterday's Bestsellers and Glorious Perversity: The Decline and Fall of Literary Decadence, both published by Borgo Press in 1998. He also works in the field of the popularization of science, in which he is currently producing a series of "LabNotes" pamphlets on recent developments in medical biotechnology for the Education Division of the Wellcome Trust. He occasionally translates obscure 19th century fantasies from the French, his most recent endeavour in that vein being Paul Feval's 1869 account of Vampire City, issued by Sarob Press, 1999.

The Hooded Swan series was written while he was a postgraduate student at the University of York, initially in the Biology department and later in Sociology. He taught Sociology for 12 years at the University of Reading before becoming a full-time writer in 1988.

Genres: Science Fiction, Young Adult Fantasy, Fantasy, Horror

1. Asgard's Secret (1982)
     aka Journey to the Center
2. Asgard's Conquerors (1990)
     aka Invaders from the Centre
3. Asgard's Heart (1990)
     aka The Centre Cannot Hold



Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Brian Stableford

Short stories
Sad Story (1974)
The Engineer and the Executioner (1975)
Judas Story (1976)
Security (1979)
And He Not Busy Being Born (1986)
The Man Who Loved the Vampire Lady (1988)
Wildland (1989)
Bedside Conversations (1990)
Behind the Wheel (1990)
The Shepherd's Daughter (1990)
Innocent Blood (1991)
Justice (1991)
The Innsmouth Heritage [short story] (1992)
Another Bad Day in Bedlam (1993)
The Devil's Men (1994)
Les Fleurs du Mal (1994)Hugo (nominee)
The Unkindness of Ravens (1994)
The Exploration of Inner Space (1995)
The Hunger and Ecstasy of Vampires [short story] (1995)
Mortimer Gray's History of Death (1995)Nebula Awards (nominee)
Out of Touch (1995)
The House of Mourning (1996)Bram Stoker (nominee)
Chacun sa Goule (1997)
The Pipes of Pan (1997)
Quality Control (1997)
Seers (1997)
True Collectors (1997)
O for a Fiery Gloom and Thee (1998)
Chanterelle (2000)
The Haunted Bookshop [short story] (2000)

Arthur C. Clarke Award Best Book nominee (1989) : The Empire of Fear
Hugo Best Novella nominee (1995) : Les Fleurs du Mal
Nebula Awards Best Novella nominee (1996) : Mortimer Gray's History of Death
Bram Stoker Best Short Story nominee (1997) : The House of Mourning
John W Campbell Memorial Award Best Novel nominee (2003) : Dark Ararat

Brian Stableford recommends

Taste of Blood Wine (1992)
(Blood , book 1)
Freda Warrington
"Should not be missed."

Perdido Street Station (2000)
(New Crobuzon, book 1)
China Miéville
"A phantasmagoric masterpiece whose grotesquerie is unmatched by any other work of contempory imaginative fiction. Its surreal imagery recalls the work of Hieronymus Bosch, and only a writer ov the very highest quality could bind such a hectic torrent of exotica into a plot as taut and compelling as this one."
The Five of Cups
The Five of Cups (2003)
Caitlín R Kiernan
" Caitlin Kiernan's The Five of Cups is a clamorous riot of a book: vivid, violent and viperish. It has that precious raw power which the best first novels always have, uncalmed by dulling practice and uninhibited by censorious wariness."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

Search for