Lord Dunsany's picture

Lord Dunsany

(Edward John Moreton Drax Plunkett)
UK flag (1878 - 1957)

Baron Dunsany was born in London in 1878, the scion of an Anglo-Irish family that could trace its ancestry to the twelfth century. During his life Dunsany distinguished himself as both an author and a dramatist, he once had five plays running concurrently on Broadway, and is now recognised as a leading figure in the development of modern fantasy literature. His works include The Book of Wonder (1912), Plays of Gods and Men (1917) and The Curse of the Wise Woman (1933).

Genres: Fantasy
thumbthumbthumbno image available
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
Novellas and Short Stories
   The Ghosts (1993)
Non fiction
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
Anthologies containing stories by Lord Dunsany
thumbno image availablethumbthumb
Short stories
Autumn Cricket
A Fight with Knives
The Ghost of the Valley
The Guest
A Large Diamond
The Magician
On the Other Side of the Sun
Out West
Spring in Town
Wind and Fog
The Wind in the Wood
Of Yoharneth-Lahai (1900)
Alhireth-Hotep the Prophet (1905)
The Bird of Doom and The End (1905)
The Chaunt of the Gods (1905)
The Chaunt of the Priests (1905)
Concerning Sish (1905)
The Deeds of Mung (1905)
The Eye in the Waste (1905)
The Gods of Pegana [short story] (1905)
Kabok the Prophet (1905)
Of Dorozhand (1905)
Of How Imbaun Became High Prophet in Aradec (1905)
Of How Imbaun Met Zodrak (1905)
Of How Imbaun Spake of Death to the King (1905)
Of How the Gods Whelmed Sidith (1905)
Of Odd (1905)
Of Roon, the God of Going (1905)
Of Skarl the Drummer (1905)
Of the Calamity That Befel Yun-Ilara by the Sea (1905)
Of the Game of the Gods (1905)
Of the Making of the Worlds (1905)
Of the Thing That Is Neither God Nor Beast (1905)
Pegana (1905)
The Revolt of the Home Gods (1905)
The Rive (1905)
The Sayings of Imbaun (1905)
The Sayings of Kib (1905)
The Sayings of Limpang-Tung (1905)
The Sayings of Slid (1905)
Yonath the Prophet (1905)
Yug the Prophet (1905)
The Cave of Kai (1906)
The Coming of the Sea (1906)
The Dreams of a Prophet (1906)
For the Honour of the Gods (1906)
In the Land of Time [short story] (1906)
The Jest of the Gods (1906)
The Journey of the King (1906)
The King That Was Not (1906)
A Legend of the Dawn (1906)
The Men of Yarnith (1906)
Mildeen (1906)
Mlideen (1906)
Night and Morning (1906)
Of the Gods of Averon (1906)
The Opulence of Yahn (1906)
The Relenting of Sarnidac (1906)
The Secret of the Gods (1906)
The Sorrow of Search (1906)
The South Wind (1906)
Time and the Gods [short story] (1906)
Usury (1906)
The Vengeance of Men (1906)
When the Gods Slept (1906)
Bethmoora (1908)
The Doom of La Traviata (1908)
The Fall of Babbulkund (1908)
The Fortress Unvanquishable, Save for Sacnoth (1908)
The Ghosts [short story] (1908)
The Highwayman (1908)
The Hurricane (1908)
In the Twilight (1908)
The Kith of the Elf-Folk (1908)
The Lord of Cities (1908)
The Madness of Andelsprutz (1908)
On the Dry Land (1908)
The Sword of Welleran [short story] (1908)
Where the Tides Ebb and Flow (1908)
The Whirlpool (1908)
The Idle City (1909)
Carcassonne (1910)
The Hashish Man [short story] (1910)
Idle Days on the Yann (1910)
In Zaccarath (1910)
Poltarnees, Beholder of Ocean (1910)
Poor Old Bill (1910)
The Hoard of the Gibbelins (1911)
The Bride of the Man-Horse (1912)
Chu-bu and Sheemish (1912)
The Coronation of Mr Thomas Shap (1912)
The Distressing Tale of Thangobrind the Jeweller, and of the Doom That Befell Him (1912)
The House of the Sphinx (1912)
How One Came, As Was Foretold, to the City of Never (1912)
How Nuth Would Have Practised His Art Upon the Gnoles (1912)
The Injudicious Prayers of Pombo the Idolater (1912)
The Loot of Bombasharna (1912)
Miss Cubbidge and the Dragon of Romance (1912)
The Probable Adventure of the Three Literary Men (1912)
The Quest of the Queen's Tears (1912)
The Wonderful Window (1912)
After the Fire (1915)
The Assignation (1915)
The Dream of King Karna-Vootra (1915)
The Exiles' Club (1915)
How the Enemy Came to Thlunrana (1915)
A Story of Land and Sea (1915)
A Tale of London (1915)
The Three Infernal Jokes (1915)
The Bureau d'Echange de Maux (1916)
A Day at the Edge of the World (1916)
Erlathdronion (1916)
The Field (1916)
How Plash-Goo Came to the Land of None's Desire (1916)
A Narrow Escape (1916)
The Secret of the Sea (1916)
A Tale of the Equator (1916)
Thirteen at Table (1916)
The Three Sailors' Gambit (1916)
A Night at an Inn [short story] (1917)
The Avenger of Perdondaris (1919)
Beyond the Fields We Know [short story] (1919)
How the Dwarfs Rose Up in War (1919)
A Shop in Go-by Street (1919)
Our Distant Cousins (1931)
Two Bottles of Relish (1932)
How Ryan Got Out of Russia (1934)
A Mystery of the East (1934)
The Walk to Lingham (1934)
Jorkens Consults a Prophet (1940)
The Neapolitan Ice (1940)
The Sign (1940)
By Command of Pharoah (1948)
The Cleverness of Dr Caber (1948)
A Cricket Problem (1948)
A Deal with the Devil (1948)
The English Magnifico (1948)
The Expulsion (1948)
Fairy Gold (1948)
The Haunting of Halahanstown (1948)
In a Dim Room (1948)
The Ingratiating Smile (1948)
Jarton's Disease (1948)
Jorkens in Witch Wood (1948)
Jorkens Leaves Prison (1948)
Jorkens Practises Medicine and Magic (1948)
Jorkens' Ride (1948)
The Khamseen (1948)
The Last Bull (1948)
A Life's Work (1948)
Lost (1948)
Making Fine Weather (1948)
Mgamu (1948)
The Pale-Green Image (1948)
The Rebuff (1948)
A Royal Dinner (1948)
The Sacred City of Krakovlitz (1948)
The Secret of the Sphinx (1948)
The Strange Drug of Dr Caber (1948)
Strategy at the Billiards Club (1948)
The Warning (1948)
The Welcome (1948)
Misadventure (1954)

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors