Seanan McGuire's picture
530 followers

Seanan McGuire


USA flag (b.1978)

aka A Deborah Baker, Mira Grant

SEANAN McGUIRE is the author of the Wayward Children series, the October Daye urban fantasy series, the InCryptid series, and other works. She also writes darker fiction as Mira Grant. Seanan lives in Seattle with her cats, a vast collection of creepy dolls, and horror movies, and sufficient books to qualify her as a fire hazard. She was the winner of the 2010 John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, and in 2013 she became the first person ever to appear five times on the same Hugo ballot.

Genres: Urban Fantasy, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Horror, Mystery
 
Series
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumb
 
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumb
 
thumbthumb
 
Indexing
   1. Indexing (2013)
   2. Reflections (2015)
thumbthumb
 
thumbthumbthumb
 
thumbthumbthumbthumb
thumbthumb
 
thumb
 
Seanan McGuire recommends
thumb
The Shadow Reader (2011)
(McKenzie Lewis, book 1)
Sandy Williams
"Sexy and fun, this is a must."
thumb
London Falling (2012)
(Shadow Police, book 1)
Paul Cornell
"Paul Cornell has written a truly ingenious police procedural which happens to be the best supernatural London story since 'Neverwhere'."
thumb
The Shambling Guide to New York City (2013)
(Shambling Guides, book 1)
Mur Lafferty
"Nothing short of delightful."
thumb
Wisp of a Thing (2013)
(Tufa, book 2)
Alex Bledsoe
"Beautifully written, surprisingly moving, and unexpected in the best of ways."
thumb
Celebromancy (2013)
(Ree Reyes, book 2)
Michael R Underwood
"Geekomancy is a glorious blender of genres... absolutely steller."
thumb
Dirty Magic (2014)
(Prospero's War, book 1)
Jaye Wells
"DIRTY MAGIC is like nothing else currently happening in urban fantasy. Grim, gritty, and great."
thumb
The Witches of Echo Park (2015)
(Echo Park Coven, book 1)
Amber Benson
"Dark, delicious, and devilishly intricate. a spellbinding winner."
thumb
Within These Walls (2015)
Ania Ahlborn
"Cruel, bone chilling, and destined to become a classic, WITHIN THESE WALLS is worth the sleep it will cost you. Some of the most promising horror I’ve encountered in years."
thumb
Planetfall (2015)
(Planetfall , book 1)
Emma Newman
"I have been waiting for this book for a very long time. Planetfall is gripping, thoughtful science fiction in the vein of Tiptree or Crispin. Unique, timely, and enthralling...Emma Newman has crafted a story that turns inward on itself in a beautiful spiral; the written equivalent of the golden mean. Absolutely worth your time. Science fiction is meant to show us things about ourselves that we need to know. Planetfall is some of the finest sociological science fiction I have read since Tiptree...Absolutely beautiful. What a glorious, heartbreaking maze of a book."
thumb
Heroine Complex (2016)
(Heroine Complex, book 1)
Sarah Kuhn
"The superheroine we’ve been waiting for; the urban fantasy we deserve. Sarah Kuhn is the total package: comedy, tragedy, and sincerity. Grab your cape. We’re saving the city."
thumb
Fix (2016)
(Mancer, book 3)
Ferrett Steinmetz
"Hot, inventive, and exciting!."
thumb
The Last Sacrifice (2017)
(Tides of War , book 1)
James A Moore
"Gripping, horrific, and unique, James Moore continues to be a winner, whatever genre he’s writing in. Well worth your time."
thumb
Phantom Pains (2017)
(Arcadia Project, book 2)
Mishell Baker
"Smart, snappy, fast, fantastic. You will not be sorry you read this."
thumb
Cormorant Run (2017)
Lilith Saintcrow
"Lilith Saintcrow is at the top of her game."
thumb
The Tiger's Daughter (2017)
(Ascendant Trilogy , book 1)
K Arsenault Rivera
"Delicate, intricate, inevitable... a stunning debut. It took my breath away."
thumb
Glimpse (2018)
Jonathan Maberry
"Nobody brings the pain in modern horror like Jonathan Maberry. He's a master at the height of his game, and seeing what he does next is always an absolute delight."
thumb
Deep Roots (2018)
(Innsmouth Legacy, book 2)
Ruthanna Emrys
"This is wicked for the Cthulhu Mythos."
thumb
One of Us (2018)
Craig DiLouie
"This is not a kind book, or a gentle book, or a book that pulls its punches. But it's a powerful book and it will change you."
thumb
An Easy Death (2018)
(Gunnie Rose, book 1)
Charlaine Harris
"When a master of her craft offers to tell you a story, let her. The results are dazzling."
thumb
Creatures of Want & Ruin (2018)
(Creatures , book 2)
Molly Tanzer
"Profound and enthralling. This book is a delicate dream, mixing its own internal mythology with a brutal tale of prejudice and human frailty. I can’t recommend it enough. Tanzer is absolutely one to watch."
thumb
Miranda in Milan (2019)
Katharine Duckett
"Glorious and transformative, this may not be the continuation Shakespeare intended, but it is the one that we deserve."
thumb
The Nobody People (2019)
(Resonant Duology, book 1)
Bob Proehl
"Thoughtful, nuanced, kinetic, and, above all, human, this is the superhero story we've been waiting for."
thumb
The Library Of The Unwritten (2019)
(Hell's Library, book 1)
A J Hackwith
"It's like The Good Place meets Law & Order: Bibliophile Crime Unit. Highly recommended. This book is so much fun, and you should be reading it. Trust me. Stories about story are some of my favorite kinds. This book definitely makes the list. I am so glad I read this."
thumb
Salvaged (2019)
Madeleine Roux
"Elegant and inevitable, this is the prose equivalent of playing a survival horror game. Each piece feeds perfectly into the next. Beautifully written."
thumb
The House in the Cerulean Sea (2020)
TJ Klune
"Sweet, comforting, and kind, this book is very close to perfect. The House in the Cerulean Sea is a work of classic children's literature written for adults and children alike, with the perspective and delicacy of the modern day. I cannot recommend it highly enough."
thumb
The Book of Koli (2020)
(Rampart Trilogy, book 1)
M R Carey
"This is a BEAUTIFUL book. Gripping, engaging, and absolutely worth the time it takes to burrow yourself into its reality. I can't recommend it highly enough."
thumb
The Mother Code (2020)
Carole Stivers
"The Mother Code by Carole Stivers is brilliant, innovative, and moving."
thumb
Stealing Thunder (2020)
Alina Boyden
"This is an epic fantasy for our time, beautifully written, considerately composed, and very important in many ways. Highly recommended."
thumb
Axiom's End (2020)
(Noumena, book 1)
Lindsay Ellis
"Axiom's End: if you enjoy first contact tales, alien cultures, inexplicable found families, beautiful chaos and elegantly constructed stories."
thumb
Deal with the Devil (2020)
(Mercenary Librarians, book 1)
Kit Rocha
"Hard-hitting, unflinching, brutally, beautifully written, and surprising even in the last act. It pulls off a few tricks I would have called cliches past redeeming. I am SO impressed."
thumb
Hench (2020)
Natalie Zina Walschots
"This book is fast, furious, compelling, and angry as hell. It's a beautiful deconstruction of the superhero genre, and I'm only a little annoyed that I didn't think of it first."
thumb
Hollywood Monsters (2021)
(Lilith , book 3)
Dana Fredsti
"Fast, fun, and unrelenting."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors