New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Clifford D Simak's picture

Clifford D Simak

USA flag (1904 - 1988)

Clifford D. Simak worked as a newspaperman for most of his life and only became a full time writer of sf after his retirement. His first published story appeared in Wonder Stories in 1931. He received the Grand Master Nebula Award in 1976.


The Creator (1946)
City (1952)
Strangers in the Universe (1956)
The Worlds of Clifford Simak (1960)
Aliens for Neighbours (1961)
Other Worlds of Clifford Simak (1962)
All the Traps of Earth (1963)
Night of the Puudly (1964)
Worlds Without End (1964)
Best Science Fiction Stories of Clifford D. Simak (1967)
Trilogy of the Future (1972)
Skirmish (1977)
Marathon Photograph (1986)
Brothers (1987)
Off-Planet (1988)
The Autumn Land (1990)
The Immigrant (1991)
The Creator and Other Stories (1993)
Over the River and Through the Woods (1996)
The Civilisation Game (1997)
Hellhounds of the Cosmos and Other Tales from the Fourth Dimension (2011)
Science Fiction Gems, Vol. Three (2012) (with Manly Banister, Algis Budrys, C M Kornbluth, Milton Lesser, Sam Merwin Jr, Stanley Mullen, Kris Neville, Peter Phillips and William Tenn)
More Fantastic Stories (2013) (with Frank Herbert, Carl Jacobi, R A Lafferty, Andre Norton, Edgar Pangborn and Stanley G Weinbaum)
The Time Travel Megapack (2013) (with John Gregory Betancourt, Reginald Bretnor, Damien Broderick, C J Henderson, Edward M Lerner, Richard A Lupoff, William F Nolan, James H Schmitz and Darrell Schweitzer)
The Seventh Science Fiction Megapack (2013) (with Poul Anderson, John Gregory Betancourt, Jerome Bixby, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Reginald Bretnor, Grendel Briarton (Reginald Bretnor), Damien Broderick, Fredric Brown, Arthur C Clarkes, Mark Clifton, Geoffrey Cobbe, Michael R Collings, Lester del Rey, C J Henderson, Michael Kurland, Edward M Lerner, Mike Resnick, Jesse Roarke, Robert Silverberg, Jerry Sohl, Lawrence Watt-Evans, Richard Wilson and Robert F Young)
The 11th Science Fiction MEGAPACK (2016) (with Poul Anderson, Manly Banister, John Gregory Betancourt, Jerome Bixby, J F Bone, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Hal Clement, Mark Clifton, Lester del Rey, Simon Eisner, E Everett Evans, H B Fyfe, Christopher Grimm, James E Gunn, Raymond F Jones, C M Kornbluth, Fritz Leiber, Murray Leinster, Katherine MacLean, William Morrison, Frederik Pohl, Frank M Robinson, Ross Rocklynne, Tony Rothman, Robert Silverberg, Evelyn E Smith, Stephen Tall, William Tenn, Sydney J Van Scyoc, F. L. Wallace, Robert Moore Williams, Donald A Wollheim and Robert F Young)
The Golden Age of Science Fiction - Volume XV (2016) (with Karen Anderson, Poul Anderson, Eando Binder, Jerome Bixby, Ben Bova, Robert Silverberg, C E Smith, Evelyn E Smith and F L Wallace)

Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Clifford D Simak
Short stories
...And the Truth Shall Make You Free
The Answers
Hermit of Mars (1939)
Madness from Mars (1939)
Masquerade (1941)
The Street That Wasn't There (1941) (with Carl Jacobi)
Hunch (1943)
City [short story] (1944)
Desertion (1944)
Huddling Place (1944)
Mr Meek Plays Polo (1944)
Eternity Lost (1949)
Limiting Factor (1949)
Skirmish [short story] (1950)
Good Night, Mr James (1951)
You'll Never Go Home Again (1951)
Worrywart (1953)
The Fence (1954)
How-2 (1954)
Neighbor (1954)
Green Thumb (1956)
The Big Front Yard (1958)Hugo
The Civilisation Game [short story] (1958)
A Death In the House (1959)
No Life of Their Own (1959)
Horrible Example (1961)
Over the River and Through the Woods [short story] (1965)
Over the River and Through the Trees (1965)Nebula Awards (nominee)
Small Deer (1965)
Buckets of Diamonds (1969)
The Thing in the Stone (1970)Hugo (nominee)
Nebula Awards (nominee)
The Autumn Land [short story] (1971)Hugo (nominee)
Construction Shack (1973)
Epilog (1973)
The Ghost of a Model T (1975)
Grotto of the Dancing Deer (1980)Hugo
Nebula Awards
The Whistling Well (1980)

Hugo Best Novellette winner (1959) : The Big Front Yard
Hugo Best Novel nominee (1962) : Time Is the Simplest Thing
Hugo Best Novel winner (1964) : Way Station
Nebula Awards Best Novel nominee (1966) : All Flesh Is Grass
Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1966) : Over the River and Through the Trees
Hugo Best Novel nominee (1969) : The Goblin Reservation
Hugo Best Novella nominee (1971) : The Thing in the Stone
Nebula Awards Best Novella nominee (1971) : The Thing in the Stone
Hugo Best Short Story nominee (1972) : The Autumn Land [short story]
Hugo Best Novel nominee (1973) : A Choice of Gods
Hugo Best Short Story winner (1981) : Grotto of the Dancing Deer
Nebula Awards Best Short Story winner (1981) : Grotto of the Dancing Deer
Hugo Best Novel nominee (1982) : Project Pope

Search for