Elizabeth Massie's picture

Elizabeth Massie

USA flag (b.1953)

aka Beth Massie

Since 1984, Elizabeth Massie's short horror/suspense fiction has appeared in many magazines and anthologies. Her novella Stephen won the 1991 Bram Stoker Award and was a World Fantasy Award finalist. She is also a novelist, and her 1992 novel, Sineater was a Bram Stoker recipient. In February 2003, Lock Her Room, a short film based on her story of the same name, premiered on Showtime. Elizabeth has authored young adult historical fiction, including the Young Founders series, the Daughters of Liberty trilogy, and The Great Chicago Fire: 1871. Her horror/suspense titles for young adults include Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Powers of Persuasion and Ghost Harbor. Rhymes and Reasons, a PBS special for which she wrote the teleplay, won a Parents' Choice Award.

In addition, Elizabeth has authored numerous novels, nonfiction books, and poems for educational publishers Steck-Vaughn, Rigby, Scott-Foresman, and CTB/McGraw Hill. Elizabeth offers creative writing workshops to students in grades 3-college. She lives in the Shenandoah Valley with sf/fantasy illustrator Cortney Skinner, is active in Amnesty International Group 157 of Charlottesville, and is mother to Erin, 26, and Brian, 23.

Genres: Young Adult Fantasy, Horror, Children's Fiction, Mystery, Historical Romance, Young Adult Fiction
Series contributed to
no image available
no image availablethumb
Kolchak: The Night Stalker (with Pierce Askegren, Mike Baron, Rachel Caine, Mark Dawidziak, Tom DeFalco, P N Elrod, John Everson, Joe Gentile, Christopher Golden, John Ostrander, Gary Phillips, Robert J Randisi, James Reasoner and Richard Dean Starr)
   The Night Stalker Casebook (2006)
Anthologies containing stories by Elizabeth Massie
Short stories
Thundersylum (1985)
Hooked on Buzzer (1988)
Stephen [short story] (1990)World Fantasy (nominee)
Bram Stoker
Lock Her Room (1991)
M Is For the Many Things (1991)
Brazo de Dios (1993)
What Happened When Mosby Paulson Had Her Painting Reproduced on the Cover of the Phone Book (1994)
The Merry Music of Madness (1995) (with Brian Massie)
Ice Dreams (1996) (with Robert Petitt)
The Corridor (1997) (with Brian A Hopkins, Billie Sue Mosiman, Yvonne Navarro, Jeffrey Osier, Stephen Mark Rainey, John Rosenman and Dave Wilson)
Fixtures of Matchstick Men and Joo (1997)

Bram Stoker Best Novellette winner (1991) : Stephen [short story]
World Fantasy Best Short Story nominee (1991) : Stephen [short story]
Bram Stoker Best First Novel winner (1993) : Sineater