William Tenn's picture

William Tenn

(Philip Klass)
UK flag (1920 - 2010)

William Tenn is the pseudonym of Philip Klass, who was born in 1920. Although he was born in London, he spent most of his life in America, teaching writing and sf at Pennsylvania State College from 1966. He began writing after serving in the Second World War and published his first story, 'Alexander the Bait' in Astounding Science Fiction in 1946. Stories like 'Down Among the Dead Men', 'The Liberation of Earth' and 'The Custodian' quickly established him as a fine, funny and thoughtful satirist. In 1999 William Tenn was selected the Science Fiction Writers of America's Author Emeritus.

Genres: Mystery, Science Fiction
   A Lamp for Medusa (1968)
   Of Men and Monsters (1968)
no image availablethumb
   Of All Possible Worlds (1955)
   The Human Angle (1956)
   Time in Advance (1958)
   The Seven Sexes (1968)
   The Square Root of Man (1968)
   The Wooden Star (1968)
   Immodest Proposals (2000)
   Here Comes Civilization (2001)
   Venus is a Man's World (2010)
   Science Fiction Gems, Vol. Three (2012) (with others)
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
Novellas and Short Stories
   Consulate (1948)
   Project Hush (1954)
Non fiction
   Dancing Naked (2004)
Series contributed to
Black Cat Weekly
   75. Black Cat Weekly #75 (2023) (with others)
Anthologies containing stories by William Tenn
Worst Contact (2015)
edited by
Hank Davis

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors