New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Lawrence Watt-Evans's picture

Lawrence Watt-Evans

USA flag (1954 - )

aka Nathan Archer

Lawrence Watt-Evans is one of the pseudonyms of American science fiction and fantasy author Lawrence Watt Evans (another pseudonym, used primarily for science fiction, is Nathan Archer). Born in Arlington Massachusetts as the fourth of six children, he made his first attempts at professional writing when he was eight.

After graduating from Bedford High School in Bedford, MA, he attended Princeton University but left without a degree. By the rules of Princeton, he could not re-apply for a year, and he resolved to use it to become a writer & began to seriously try to sell his writing, but sold nothing significant until he produced The Lure of the Basilisk in 1978 (published 1980) and thereupon began writing full time. Despite having sold a short story and several articles under his real name, he initially submitted his first novel under a pseudonym; it was the editor of that novel, Lester Del Rey, who first demanded he use his real name and then added the hyphen to create the name Lawrence Watt-Evans. Evans had insisted on including his middle name to avoid confusion with a contemporary non-fiction writer also named Lawrence Evans, and del Rey had then added the hyphen "to make it more distinctive" .

Nightside City
1. Nightside City (1989)
2. Realms of Light (2010)


Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Lawrence Watt-Evans
Short stories
Beneath the Tarmac
Paranoid Fantasy #1 (1975)
Why I Left Harry's All-Night Hamburgers [short story] (1987)Nebula Awards (nominee)
A Flying Saucer with Minnesota Plates (1991)
The Name of Fear (1991)
Paradise (1991)
Pickman's Modem (1992)
Dead Things Don't Move [short story] (1993)
Larger than Life (1993)
Old Soldiers (1993)
The Bride of Bigfoot (1994)
Dead Babies (1994)
For Value Received (1994)
How I Maybe Saved the World Last Tuesday Before Breakfast (1994)
One of the Boys (1994)
Choice (1995)
The Final Challenge (1995)
The Guardswoman (1995)
Impostor Syndrome (1995)
My Mother and I Go Shopping (1995)
The Pick-Up (1995)
Revised Edition (1995)
Something to Grin About (1995)
Worthy of His Hire (1995)
The Bloodstone (1996)
The Garrison (1996)
Grandpa's Head (1997)
Upstairs (1998)
Chaperone (1999)
In for a Pound (1999)
Night Flight (1999)
Throwback (1999)
Trixie (1999)
Heart of Stone [short story] (2000)
The Last Bastion (2000)

Hugo Best Short Story winner (1988) : Why I Left Harry's All-Night Hamburgers [short story]
Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1988) : Why I Left Harry's All-Night Hamburgers [short story]

Lawrence Watt-Evans recommends
Hellspark (1988)
Janet Kagan
"A wealth of unique imagery and rich characterization makes Hellspark a thoroughly satisfying book."
Fangs and Angel Wings
Fangs and Angel Wings (2003)
Karen E Taylor
"Karen Taylor writes about the basics, love and death and sex, and about the ways they intersect, and she somehow does it simultaneously more directly, more subtly, and more elegantly than just about anyone else."

Chains of Redemption (2004)
(Chains, book 3)
Selina Rosen
"A rip-snorting space adventure the likes of which we don't see often enough these days!"

Phoenix Rising (2012)
(Balanced Sword , book 1)
Ryk E Spoor
"Exciting, adventure, scary monsters, strange gods, and wondrous magic."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

Search for