New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Michael Marshall Smith's picture

Michael Marshall Smith

UK flag (1965 - )

aka Michael Marshall

Michael Marshall Smith was born and raised -- itinerantly -- in the USA and the UK: his parents are academics. He has had two radio comedy series and a pilot TV series, and is currently working on screenplays for two feature films and the BBC adaptation of Clive Barker's Weaveworld. Only Forward was his first novel, Spares his second. He is distressingly young.


Anthologies containing stories by Michael Marshall Smith
Short stories
Victoria's Secret
The Dark Land (1988)
The Man Who Drew Cats (1988)
Always (1991)
More Bitter Than Death (1991)
Everybody Goes (1992)
The Fracture (1992)
Later (1992)
The Owner (1992)
A Time for Waiting (1992)
The Truth Game (1993)
Foreign Bodies (1994)
A Place to Stay (1994)
Rain Falls (1994)
To Receive Is Better (1994)World Fantasy (nominee)
To See the Sea (1994)
More Tomorrow [short story] (1995)World Fantasy (nominee)
Sorted (1995)
Hell Hath Enlarged Herself (1996)World Fantasy (nominee)
Not Waving (1996)
Save As... (1996)
When God Lived In Kentish Town (1996)
Dear Alison (1997)
Different Now (1997)
Mr Cat (1997)
Walking Wounded (1997)
Diet Hell (1998)
What You Make It [short story] (1998)
The Book of Irrational Numbers (1999)
The Vaccinator [short story] (1999)
Welcome (1999)British Fantasy Society (nominee)
The Handover (2000)

British Fantasy Society Best Novel winner (1995) : Only Forward
World Fantasy Best Short Story nominee (1995) : To Receive Is Better
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1996) : Spares
World Fantasy Best Novella nominee (1996) : More Tomorrow [short story]
World Fantasy Best Novella nominee (1997) : Hell Hath Enlarged Herself
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1998) : One of Us
British Fantasy Society Best Short Story nominee (1999) : Welcome
British Fantasy Society Best Collection nominee (1999) : What You Make It
Philip K Dick Award Best Book nominee (2000) : Only Forward
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (2004) : More Tomorrow: And Other Stories
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (2008) : The Servants
World Fantasy Best Novel nominee (2008) : The Servants

Books about Michael Marshall Smith
Michael Marshall Smith recommends

The Alchemist's Apprentice (2001)
Jeremy Dronfield
"A genuinely magical novel..."

White Devils (2004)
Paul McAuley
"Stunning proof that McAuley now leads the world in science thrillers. Not just a gripping, insightful novel, but a genuinely important book. Jaw-droppingly good."

The Shadow of the Soul (2011)
(Dog-Faced Gods, book 2)
Sarah Pinborough
"A pitch black thriller with a fierce emotional payload - gritty, authentic and compeling."

The Many (2016)
Wyl Menmuir
"Ominous, subtle and beautiful – an intensely resonant trawling of suffering’s deep currents."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors

Search for