William F Nolan's picture

William F Nolan

(William Francis Nolan)
USA flag (b.1928)

William F. Nolan is best known as the co-author (with George Clayton Johnson) of Logan's Run -- a science fiction novel that went on to become a movie, a television series and is about to become a movie again -- and as single author of its sequels. His short stories have been selected for scores of anthologies and textbooks and he is twice winner of the Edgar Allan Poe Special Award from the Mystery Writers of America.

Nolan was born in 1928 in Kansas City Missouri. He attended the Kansas City Art Institute and worked as an artist for Hallmark Cards. He moved to California in the late 1940s and studied at San Diego State College. He began concentrating on writing rather than art and, in 1952, was introduced by Ray Bradbury to another young up-and-coming author, Charles Beaumont. Moving to the Los Angeles area in 1953, Nolan became along with Bradbury, Beaumont, and Richard Matheson part of the "inner core" of the soon-to-be highly influential "Southern California Group" of writers. By 1956 Nolan was a full-time writer. Since 1951 he has sold more than 1500 stories, articles, books, and other works.

Genres: Science Fiction, Western
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by William F Nolan
The Fiend in You (1962)
The 5th Pan Book of Horror Stories (1964)
The Pseudo-People (1965)
The Playboy Book of Horror and the Supernatural (1967)
The Hollywood Nightmare (1970)
A Sea of Space (1970)
A Wilderness of Stars (1970)
Frights (1976)
Whispers (1977)
100 Great Science Fiction Short Short Stories (1978)
Frights 2 (1979)
The Master's Choice Book 2 (1979)
Shadows 2 (1979)
Shadows 3 (1980)
After the Fall (1980)
The Giant Book of Horror Stories (1981)
Modern Masters of Horror (1981)
Haunted Houses (1983)
Fears (1983)
100 Great Fantasy Short Short Stories (1984)
Masques (1984)
Horrors (1986)
A Treasury of American Horror Stories (1986)
Masters of Darkness (1986)
Cutting Edge (1986)
The Year's Best Horror Stories XIV (1986)
Masques 2 (1987)
Whispers VI (1987)
The Year's Best Fantasy First Annual Collection (1988)
Lord John Ten (1988)
Scare Care (1989)
Masques 3 (1989)
Urban Horrors (1990)
Dark Voices 2 (1990)
100 Ghastly Little Ghost Stories (1992)
Best New Horror 3 (1992)
Journeys to the Twilight Zone (1993)
The Best of Whispers (1994)
Vampire Detectives (1995)
Space Movies (1995)
Tales of the Batman (1995)
The Vampire Omnibus (1995)
I, Vampire (1995)
Adventures of the Batman (1995)
The Best of Weird Tales (1995)
The Giant Book of Fantasy Tales (1996)
Night Screams (1996)
100 Tiny Tales of Terror (1996)
Supernatural Sleuths (1996)
Dancing with the Dark (1997)
The Flying Sorcerers (1997)
Vampire and Werewolf Stories (1998)
The Young Oxford Book of Aliens (1998)
100 Twisted Little Tales of Torment (1998)
California Sorcery (1999)
Vintage Science Fiction (1999)
100 Hilarious Little Howlers (1999)
The Mammoth Book of Haunted House Stories (2000)
thumbthumbno image availablethumb
thumbthumbthumbno image available
Short stories
With Nott in the Terrible Targa
The Joy of living (1954)
Into the Lion's Den (1956)
The Small World of Lewis Stillman (1957)
The Underdweller (1957)
But I Have Promises to Keep... (1958)
Lap of the Primitive (1958)
Tildy (1958)
One of Those Days (1962)
Death Double (1963)
Solution (1963)
The Stuntman (1963)
Fasterfaster! (1965)
Happily Ever After (1965)
He Kilt It with a Stick (1967)
The Party (1967)
Papa's Planet (1968)
The Ellena Movement (1970)
Operation Gorf (1971)
The Worlds of Monty Willson (1971)
Starblood (1972)
Coincidence (1973)
Kelly, Fredric Michael: 1928-1987 (1973)
Violation (1973)
Gibbler's Ghost (1974)
Pairups, Inc. (1974)
Dark Winner (1976)
Dead Call (1976)
Logan's Run [short story] (1977)
Logan's World (excerpt) (1977)
Saturday's Shadow (1979)World Fantasy (nominee)
The Partnership (1980)
A Real Nice Guy (1980)
Sungrab (1980)
Death Decision (1981)
Lonely Train A' Comin' (1981)
The Pool (1981)
The Train (1981)
Fair Trade (1982)
The Zurich Solution (1982)
Something Nasty (1983)
The Party: (A Teleplay) (1984)
Trust Not a Man (1984)
Ceremony (1985)
The Final Stone (1986)
The Halloween Man (1986)
My Name Is Dolly (1987)
The Yard (1987)
The Cure (1988)
The Sky Gypsy (1988)
Daddy's Girl (1989)
On 42nd St. (1989)
Gobble, Gobble! (1990)
Blood Sky [short story] (1991)
Getting Dead (1991)
Brothers in Crime (1992)
On Harper's Road (1992)
At Diamond Lake (1994)
The Francis File (1994)
Vampire Dollars (1995)
Vympyre (1995)
The Ex (1996)
The Adventure of the Martian Moons (1997)
The Floating Table and the Jumping Violet (1997)
Lone Star Traveler (1999)

World Fantasy Best Short Story nominee (1980) : Saturday's Shadow
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (2002) : William F. Nolan's Dark Universe: Stories 1951-2001, the Very Best from a Master of Suspense

Books about William F Nolan
The Work of William F. Nolan (1988) by Boden Clarke (Robert Reginald) and James Hopkins
William F Nolan recommends
Night of the Beast (2002)
(Night Trilogy , book 1)
Harry Shannon
"A superbly rendered, teeth grinding, tour-de-force of horror from newcomer Harry Shannon"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors